Skip to content

Thinkers Meme

November 21, 2008
tags:

If your doctor told you TODAY that you were pregnant, what would you say?  This question confuses me.  Wouldn’t I be the one making the appointment to tell my doctor that I am pregnant?  I can’t imagine being so disconnected from my body that a doctor would know I was pregnant before I did.  (I AM pregnant, and I went to my first appointment on Thursday.  That’s why I have felt a little sick and too tired to write any blog posts.)

When was the last time you flew in a plane?  I came back from Peru during the first week of March.

What did the last text message you sent say? “The company dinner is on the 5th.  I am not pitiful!”

What features do you find most attractive in the preferred sex?  Strength, a warm smile, a radiant sense of self

What is a goal you would like to accomplish in the near future?  I would love to get a vertical filing cabinet and put away all the paper that is currently in piles, taking over our closet.  We don’t have a good place to keep our papers.  The floor of our bedroom’s walk-in closet is covered in stacks of paper.  😦

What is your shoe size? 8 ½

Have you ever been to Mexico? No

When is the last time you had a massage? I had a massage in 2003, when I was pregnant in Japan and having some back pain.  It was really nice, but has been my only experience with professional massages.  My children and husband and I rub each other’s backs all the time, though!

What was the last TV show you watched? Deserving Design with Vern Yip.  I love that show, as well as Designed to Sell and other shows about houses.

What are your plans for the weekend?  Sunday dinner at my parents’ house, Thanksgiving style.  I hope there is pumpkin pie.

If your significant other asked you to marry them TODAY what would you say? Yes

What is in the back seat of your car right now? Two car seats, a box of tissues, a container of Wet Ones, some CDs

What were you doing at 8 am this morning? Packing my daughter’s lunch

If you could marry any celebrity today who would it be? Dave Grohl (I don’t know if I could marry a celebrity, but I figured I would just answer the damn question.)

Have you ever been to a strip club? Yes, in college with some friends on a whim.

What is the best ice cream flavor? Dulce de Leche with Vanilla.

What is the last sporting event you watched? We were watching women’s soccer on TV last night.

Who is the last person you sent a comment/message to on myspace/facebook? I don’t have an account with myspace or facebook.

Have you ever been camping? Yes, and I especially enjoyed camping with classmates before my freshman year on the Davidson Odyssey.

What did the last text message you received say?  “lol . . . I suppose you’re not pitiful.  Sorry for the notion even crossing my path.  Fine . . . then I am pitiful.  I have no real friends anymore . . . Gave them all up . . .”

Where is your mom right now?  Maybe she’s at the YMCA.  She has “gone to town” as we like to say.  I don’t know for sure.

What color is your watch? Silver with gold accents and a gold face

Who did you last talk to on the phone? my husband

Are you allergic to anything? No

Favorite pair of shoes you wear all the time? This winter it’s going to be my black boots.

What is one thing you have learned about life recently?  There’s no real reason to be against gay marriage.  I’m trying to adjust my perception and rid myself of this prejudice.  I’ve learned that there are some very discriminatory laws in Virginia, and I didn’t realize my own complicity until recently.

Do you own an iPod? No

Do any of your friends have children? About half of them do.

What do you do at work? I am going to teach Spanish at my daughter’s preschool twice a week.

Who was your last kiss? My son gives me kisses all day long.

How did you get one of your scars? The corner of my bottom lip is terribly scarred and lacks pigment because I electrocuted myself when I was little by biting a lamp cord at the socket.  I was trying to unplug it (using my mouth).  Brilliant, I know.

What is your mom’s name? The same as my daughter’s.

Are you ticklish? On the bottoms of my feet.

Have you ever cried for no reason? There is always a reason.

Have you ever broken a bone? No

Do you have any piercings? My left ear has three holes and my right ear has one hole.  I wear earrings everyday.

Have you ever changed clothes while driving? Yes, I did that once (probably 11 or 12 years ago) at a stop sign in my mom’s stick shift car.  I took my foot off the brake and drifted back slowly into the car behind mine.  It was embarrassing, but no harm was done.  I looked in the rearview mirror and the person smiled and signaled for me just to keep going and not worry about it.

Have you ever cleaned up someone elses vomit? Yes, I was cleaning up a lot of vomit when my daughter got a virus in Japan.  She was so sad that she kept getting sick and couldn’t control when.  I didn’t mind taking care of her because we all felt sorry for her.

What was the last thing you ordered at McDonalds?  Two McChickens without mayo and a sweet tea.  But there was so much ice crammed into my drink that I couldn’t even get the straw to go down into the cup.  I wanted a lot more tea than they gave me.

Can you do the Crank Dat dance?  I don’t know what that is, but I’m sure I could learn it if there was any reason to!

What is your favorite color to wear? Blue and purple are what look best on me.  Sometimes I wear green or orange as well.

What is the longest plane ride you have ever been on? 17 hours from Dulles to Japan

What is the longest road trip you have ever taken? 13 hours in a van from Davidson, NC to Immokalee, FL

What are your turn-offs? criticism, complaining

What was your first alcoholic beverage? Coors Lite in a can.  Gross, gross, gross!

What was your last alcoholic beverage? Corona in a glass bottle

What are you craving right now? I am supposed to eat three full meals and three snacks per day.  So I bought some yogurt yesterday that is very good.  And I also bought raw sunflower seeds last week which I like to sprinkle on salads.  I would like some hot tea now, I think.  There are snow flurries out my window!

The questions in this meme are so random. Basically, I just wanted to announce my pregnancy and the first question struck me as interesting when I read it on Organic Mama’s blog, not long ago.

23 Comments
  1. November 21, 2008 2:08 pm

    I couldn’t get past the first question!!!! Congrats! How far along are you??? We need some more info, or maybe I should just finish reading the meme. 🙂

    Happy days!

  2. November 21, 2008 2:18 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I agree with you – *I* told my doctor that I was pregnant both times, though i do know a lot of people who ARE so out of touch with their own bodies that they’d need to be told.

    Good luck! Get plenty of rest!

  3. Organic Mama permalink
    November 21, 2008 2:42 pm

    CONGRATS!! I also agree with you – I knew something was up both times – the first I figured great weird was afoot when I tasted garlic in bananas and cried at toilet paper ads.

    DRINK WATER!! Oh, and take lots of photos, ’cause it’s astonishing how much our bodies change only to return pretty much to the way it was before…

  4. November 21, 2008 3:27 pm

    You’re pregnant, how wonderful! We just found out our daughter-in-law is pregnant too:)

  5. November 21, 2008 6:22 pm

    What wonderful news! Congratulations!

    (And I’m boosting.) 🙂

  6. November 21, 2008 8:03 pm

    Congratulations!!! Well, if I went to the doctor and he told me I was pregnant it would make the Guinness Book of World Records. I don’t think I’m going to be Cranking Dat dance either. Good meme. I learned more about you. All good things too.

  7. November 21, 2008 11:08 pm

    Congratulations! What a really fun way to announce your pregnancy.

  8. November 22, 2008 8:19 pm

    I am so excited you’re pregnant! Another little cutie for us to see in your pictures. How do you feel about it? Surprise? Planned? Happy, scared, nervous, elated? I know sometimes it can be overwhelming to find out you’re having another child (I hear this is the case, anyway). I hope you’re feeling good about it, and I will be praying for your new little guy/girl!! Somehow I miss you even though we’ve never met. Don’t stop blogging!

  9. Susannah permalink
    November 22, 2008 8:54 pm

    WOW! Congratulations!! Some friends of ours just had twins and that makes three children for them. Must be the perfect number!

  10. November 23, 2008 11:49 am

    Thanks for the well-wishes! The baby is due July 1st, 2009. I made a page so that I can put updates there. We’re excited!

  11. November 23, 2008 12:08 pm

    OH MY GOSH!!! How EXCITING!!!!!!!! Congratulations and I’m hoping for the 5th of July (my bday), sorry to wish you a longer preggers! OMGosh! I’m really, really thrilled for you all! Your blog posts have made my day today!

  12. November 24, 2008 7:51 am

    CONGRATS! The world must be peopled!
    (Hope you’re feeling better soon. Ginger did it for me.)
    Woo-hoo!!!

  13. November 24, 2008 10:37 am

    congratulations! that’s such exciting news 🙂

  14. Rick Toone permalink
    November 24, 2008 5:34 pm

    Wow!

  15. November 25, 2008 11:01 am

    I’m so late in commenting! The first question made my eye pop and I wanted to read all the answers!

    Yippee!! Here’s to have cleavage again. LOL!!

  16. November 26, 2008 10:40 pm

    Beautiful! No wonder you’re eating pie for breakfast…

    Congratulations, my friend! Oh, how i love baby bellies and their fruit.

  17. November 28, 2008 11:10 am

    I’m behind on my reading.
    Congratulations! Horray!

  18. November 28, 2008 5:52 pm

    Congratulations!!! What a nonchalant way to make your announcement.

  19. November 29, 2008 5:06 pm

    What a FUN way to tell the world your exciting news! WOOHOOO! Great meme…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  20. November 29, 2008 10:38 pm

    I agree with Titus2. Congratulations. I really, really don’t know how I would respond to the first question, being male. Although, I did write on my blog recently about getting pregnant the easy way.

  21. November 30, 2008 7:40 pm

    Re: the answer to that first question — it’s amazing how we (two strangers, other than reading one another’s blogs) have so much in common! Congratulations and I look forward to sharing pregnancy/more parent posts with you!

  22. rosiemolinary permalink
    December 1, 2008 10:12 am

    Congratulations! I look forward to reading the updates. Take care of you!

  23. December 3, 2008 6:00 am

    Thanks for all your kind words of support! I’m glad to share the news with you.

Comments are closed.