Skip to content

Bare Books

November 22, 2008

After reading about them on Soule Mama, I ordered 10 hardcover blank books from Bare Books.  I am impressed with their low price and high quality.  My daughter has written and illustrated a version of Little Red Riding Hood.  The wolf was difficult to draw, so she asked me to do it.  I wrote the storyline that she dictated to me.  We went page by page over a few weeks.  She wanted to use all the pages, so the story gets stretched in places.

She took this book to show-and-tell at her preschool and shared it with her classmates.  She said her teacher read it aloud and it was a big hit.  I’m proud that she was willing to put so much hard work into creating it and then she was brave enough to share it with her peers.

It’s intimidating to be confronted with a perfectly beautiful blank book, so she hesitates to start any other stories.  Bare Books has a minimum order requirement, so with our first order we invested in two packs of crayons and lots of blank books.  They are being stored in our art cabinet.  I will remind my daughter that she is welcome to use another one, and they will be there when she is ready.

. . .

bare books

. . .

bare books

. . .

bare books

. . .

9 Comments
  1. November 22, 2008 8:54 pm

    We used Bare Books when I was teaching. I LOVE them.

    It never occurred to me to use them for my own kids.

  2. November 23, 2008 11:51 am

    Kemi, I saw on their site that the books are used in classrooms. How cool that I know a teacher who has actually used them. I bet your children would have a great time making stories with you at home. They are so nice! Thanks for commenting.

  3. November 23, 2008 12:04 pm

    WOW! I LOVE these! I’ve never seen them before! My 10 year old has been using notebooks for his writings and comic books. He has been writing “books” since he was four. My young son is just starting at five. I MUST get some of these. You find the coolest stuff FW! And that Kemi used them as a teacher, is so awesome. Kemi, may I use your smarts to give our teachers a heads up! Thank you both, very much. Just AWESOME! I’m so glad I had time to catch up today! I’ll be showing my kids when they come home and I’m going to the site right now. They should give you some freebies!

    PS. FW, thanks for sharing her book with us. She is so smart and I love the drawings, she is an artist like Mom!

  4. November 24, 2008 11:59 am

    Brilliant idea! Abbott’s kindergarten teacher gave him several books she had made with construction paper as the cover and he filled them up immediately.

  5. November 26, 2008 3:01 pm

    Cute! Loved the pictures.

    When I was a kid one of my favorite things was a fresh box of crayons.

  6. November 26, 2008 7:47 pm

    Canvas Grey, your boys would love them! They have spiral bound flip books too, if that would work better for comics. And they have a comic kit that might be fun. I’m so glad you came by to catch up too! I love hearing from you. Thanks for saying such nice things about us.

    Lecia, I like that kind of homemade book too, but what I’m trying to avoid is my husband’s tendency to throw art projects away. He would be less likely to throw away a hardcover book, lol. 🙂

    Minnie, oh I know! Fresh art supplies are such a joy! It’s my favorite gift to give any child.

  7. November 29, 2008 10:32 pm

    Reading your posts in reverse order gives me a humorous perspective on things. Clearly, if your daughter had trouble drawing the wolf, she should have asked for her brothers assistance. (see Thanksgiving wolf painting.)

  8. December 1, 2008 11:54 am

    Thank you for the comic book link. I have been looking for something similar for Alex, and this package is perfect!

  9. December 1, 2008 5:25 pm

    Bikkuri, hahaha. I don’t know if my daughter would accept her brother’s help or not, but you make a good point.

    Kemi, you are welcome. I’m glad I could help you find what you wanted for your son!

Comments are closed.

