Skip to content

L is for Lunch

September 14, 2011

Logan started kindergarten on August 22.  He wants to eat packed lunch and wants everything separated, so I got these containers from Amazon.com.  I use wax paper to keep the foods separated.  It’s not a completely “waste-free” lunch, but the wax paper works well to keep the crackers and cheese and fruit tasting fresh and appetizing.  I just use scissors to cut the wax paper into sections that are about 6 inches by 6 inches and I end up using 3 of those in each lunchbox.  Even though the containers from Kinetic Go Green have dividers and the lid secures very tightly, there is a little bit of room for small foods like goldfish crackers to move from one of the sections into another.  I am also trying to prevent fruit juices from affecting the taste and texture of the crackers.

. . .

new lunch box

. . .

This photo shows the crackers still wrapped in wax paper.  One section has goldfish and the other has honey sticks.

. . .

new lunch box

. . .

This photo is after Logan has taken the crackers out of the wax paper.

. . .

new lunch box

. . .

Charlotte goes with me every Wednesday to eat lunch with Margaret at 10:40 and then with Logan at 11:15.  Sometimes she will sit down at the table and eat, but usually she likes to run around the cafeteria or crawl under the tables and get attention from all the students.

. . .

visiting for lunch

. . .

I pack the foods like ham and cheese up next to the ice pack and they stay very cold.  The apple turns a little bit brown in the 3 hours that pass between packing the lunch and eating it, but the cool temperature means it is still appetizing for Logan.  The Wednesdays that I have been there to sit with him he has been able to finish everything in the 30 minutes they are given to eat.

. . .

new lunch box

. . .

new lunch box

. . .

I have had to resort to nursing Charlotte while I eat lunch with Logan in order to keep her in my lap because by that time we’ve been in the cafeteria for almost an hour.  It was nice when she fell asleep!

. . .

asleep in the cafeteria

. . .

Margaret is buying school lunch this year, but her lunch is so early in the day that she has to pack a snack.  She ends up eating lunch two times each day because the “snack” that I pack her is just as big as a packed lunch would be.  In these containers I usually pack a plum, peach, kiwi or grapes for Margaret and an apple cut in two and some strawberries for Logan.  Then for the protein Logan likes cheese cubes.  Margaret also likes cheese and she will eat peanut butter crackers or celery with peanut butter as well.  Then in the other two sections they take banana bread muffins made by my parents and graham sticks, goldfish crackers, and Letter of the Day cookies by Earth’s Best.  Half a sandwich cut in two also fits in one section.

. . .

new lunch box

. . .

This is what the Kinetic Go Green food container looks like when it is being washed.  We don’t have a dishwasher.  It’s not a big deal to wash these two boxes and the eight sections every night. They are very good quality.  Logan doesn’t have any trouble opening the lid and I like the size of the container which helps me get the portions right.  The lid is airtight because of a silicon gasket.

. . .

washing the boxes

. . .

These containers are a much better way to pack lunch than the stainless steel boxes with the muffin cup dividers that I was using when Margaret was in preschool and kindergarten.  This way they can carry their lunchboxes by the handles and slide them upright into their narrow cubbies without the different foods mixing.

Well, it’s Wednesday (my day off from work) so I’ve got to get ready to go to the cafeteria and eat!

. . .

2 Comments
  1. September 14, 2011 1:56 pm

    Man!!! My wife never puts blueberries and cheddar goldfish in my lunch. That looks good. Actually, I normally eat school lunch, but during the summer I was treated to some good lunches from home.

  2. September 16, 2011 1:02 am

    I want healthy yummy Japanese bento lunch!

Comments are closed.