Skip to content

Equal Exchange Holiday Minis

October 11, 2012

Have you seen the new Holiday Minis from Equal Exchange?  I saw a preview photo on Facebook which I shared with a local business owner.  I told him I thought he should consider stocking the Holiday Minis.  Then later I thought, wait, that store is right next to a specialty chocolatier.  Maybe he doesn’t want to stock chocolate!  But I was soon contacted through Facebook by the Social Media Coordinator at Equal Exchange and she let me know that because I shared the photo with the store owner and suggested that he try selling them, she was going to send me a few organic candy bars.  Wow!

A package arrived and we were excited to open it!

. . .

Small Farmers Big Change

. . .

. . .

. . .

We were overwhelmed by the fun inside the package!  Bubble wrap!  And lots of candy bars!  And a bag of coffee!

I hope that The Sacred Circle does end up placing an order because the Holiday Minis are the cutest little chocolate bars wrapped in beautiful light blue paper for the milk chocolate and dark blue paper for the dark chocolate.  They are going to make the perfect gift for my children’s teachers!  Since about 20 come in each box I figure I can put 4 or 5 in a little clear cellophane bag and tie each bag with a ribbon.

They are also going to be excellent stocking stuffers, but I need to remember to be careful with how many I allow my children to eat.  The serving size says 9 mini bars, but even when my children were limited to 2 each they still got a noticeable chocolate buzz.

. . .

. . .

I first saw large bars of chocolate with the striking Equal Exchange logo at a Ten Thousand Villages store which has since closed. Then I noticed the logo again when my parents gave me a bag of coffee which also had a Presbyterian Coffee Project sticker on it.  Their church sells the coffee once a month so my parents have been very generous in continuing to give us coffee whenever they buy it at the church.

. . .

. . .

. . .

In 2009 I wrote a post about fairly traded chocolate (link to post) after we went to an event at East to West Gifts which celebrated World Fair Trade Day.  I gave away a bar of chocolate to spread awareness of the option of buying fairly traded chocolate and coffee.

Because of the generous gift that I just received from Equal Exchange, I would like to send a chocolate bar and the bag of coffee to you!  All you have to do to be eligible to win is live within the United States, and comment on this post.  There is only one entry per person.

A winner will be chosen among those who comment before Saturday October 13 at 10 am.  Leave a comment on this post before then if you would like to win.  At that time I will close the comments.  The winner will be chosen at random and will be notified by an update in this blog post and by email.

UPDATE:  I have dropped off a chocolate bar and bag of coffee to Emily of supperforsix as she was the winner this time.

5 Comments
  1. October 11, 2012 9:57 am

    We love Fair Trade Certified and Equal Exchange. Steven did a lot of research and we watched more than a few documentaries several years ago as we were trying to get the co-op going. I like the connection I feel with the small farmer and am glad to shop with a conscience.

  2. Keane Matthews permalink
    October 11, 2012 10:00 am

    Your daughter’s face is so expressive! I’m imagining her saying, “I’m being good. I’m being patient. When can I open the chocolate???”

    I love the fair trade practice for coffee and enjoy it when I can find it in my local stores. I don’t buy chocolate for my two boys because of their food allergies. Thanks for keeping “fair trade” fresh in my head!

  3. azawisto permalink
    October 11, 2012 2:44 pm

    How generous! I love Equal Exchange chocolates and coffee, and I’m really happy there’s a movement towards more availability of fair trade items (especially chocolate and coffee). For a few years, the environmental studies program here did a course on coffee that I helped with (as the librarian), and it really opened my eyes to a lot of the issues involved in the growing and producing of coffee. And I agree with Keane, I love the picture of your daughter holding the chocolate.

  4. janey permalink
    October 12, 2012 1:54 pm

    Fun idea, Sarah. I can’t wait to tell my mother-in-law (owner of East to West Gifts) that you are doing this and about the mini chocolates. By the way, Linda’s church (First Baptist, Staunton) is having a Ten Thousand Villages sale next weekend (October 19 & 20) with proceeds going to World Hunger. I’ll send you the information on facebook.

  5. Peggy Roberson permalink
    October 12, 2012 8:46 pm

    Having seen Ethiopian coffee growing, harvested, and drying, I am amazed at the low price of a bag. The product is labor intensive. I have seen poorer quality coffee sell for more other places and the farmer gets more profit for his/her labor with Equal Exchange.

Comments are closed.