Skip to content

Flickr Mosaic Meme

June 22, 2008

. . .

flickr photo mosaic

. . .

I’ve seen this mosaic on several friends’ blogs: Blue Milk, Westward Bound, Mercedes’ World.

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Type your answer to each of the questions below into Flickr Search.
2. Using only the first page of results, and pick one image.
3. Copy and paste each of the URLs for the images into Big Huge Lab’s Mosaic Maker to create a mosaic of the picture answers.

THE QUESTIONS:
1. What is your first name?
2. What is currently your favorite food?
3. What high school did you go to?
4. What is your favorite color?
5. Who is your celebrity crush?
6. What is your favorite drink?
7. What is your dream vacation?
8. What is your favorite dessert?
9. What do you want to be when you grow up?
10. What do you love most in life?
11. What is one word that describes you?
12. What is your flickr name?
These photographers deserve credit for their photos:

1. Graphium leonidas & Sarah lovaniensis, 2. lomo saltado, 3. Stone Mountain Memorial Closeup, 4. Explosively Blue, 5. bedframe, 6. a_glass_of_water, 7. The sky opened and the earth shook, down on Copperline, 8. McCormick Pumpkin Pie Spice Tin, 9. If I Were a Librarian …, 10. Balloon Man, 11. quixotic, 12. fighting windmills

13 Comments
  1. June 22, 2008 9:50 am

    I love your mosaic! I believe I have figured out most of the answers! Thanks for sharing!

  2. June 22, 2008 2:47 pm

    Oh, I love this meme. And your choices were fantastic.
    Annie

  3. June 22, 2008 11:37 pm

    Thank you, Mercedes!

    WC, I’m glad you liked the ones I chose. Are you going to do it on your blog too? I should go check!

  4. June 23, 2008 9:37 am

    I started doing this after I saw yours (love it BTW) and just when I finished, I discovered, I wasn’t logged in like I thought and lost everything. I’ll have to do this after I get back this weekend. I’m going to use your trickery and schedule posts too πŸ˜€ Thanks for the bright idea

  5. June 23, 2008 9:50 am

    Oh no, Chris! I’m sorry that happened. This takes a surprisingly long time to make. If you successfully schedule a post it will show up in your dashboard labeled as such. If you just hit “save” instead of “publish” it will show up as a draft and not do what you wanted. That has happened to several of my friends lately. Travel safely!

  6. June 24, 2008 2:39 pm

    This is very cool. I love mosaics.

  7. rosiemolinary permalink
    June 24, 2008 5:31 pm

    Love, love, love your mosaic (and figuring out your answers!). Stopped everything and did it for my current post, in fact. Now I am thinking of other college mosaics I can come up with…

    And thanks for the insight on scheduling posts. I hit just save last week and nothing came up while I was gone!

  8. June 25, 2008 10:37 am

    This looks fun and interesting. I will try to remember to make some time for it.

  9. June 25, 2008 10:49 am

    I love them too, CG.

    Rosie, thanks! Yours is great too. As for scheduling posts, next time you will know. πŸ™‚

    Bikkuri, it is fun and interesting, but it took me a really long time to do. Don’t fall asleep at your computer because of trying to get one done! πŸ™‚

  10. June 25, 2008 6:18 pm

    Yikes! I tried to find just one picture and nearly got sucked into attempting it immediately. The first picture for my first name was awesome! However, I surely would have planted my face in the keyboard if I tried. Ironically, I had several phone calls come in after 11:30pm and didn’t get to be as it was. I may have to take a nap after school.

  11. June 26, 2008 8:48 am

    Bikkuri, I saw on your blog that you did do it. I’m sorry the program gave you so much grief. I don’t have a flickr account, so I didn’t have any trouble with being logged on or privacy issues. For the twelfth question, I just used my wordpress username. My friend Rosie used “untitled” as her answer for number twelve, which I thought was creative. Once the mosaic was done I didn’t know what to do. I just saved it as a jpg in the Paint program and uploaded it to the wordpress server.

  12. June 26, 2008 6:51 pm

    Yeah, I probably just needed to trust the mosaic site to not take advantage of my security lapse: but I’m very severe. πŸ™‚

  13. June 27, 2008 10:53 am

    Hahaha, severe, but not lacking in sense of humor.

Comments are closed.