Skip to content

Thoughts Arrive Like Butterflies

June 23, 2008

Quoting Pearl Jam again. I have to say that photographing butterflies is quite frustrating. Their wings were constantly fluttering, they didn’t want to settle down, and as soon as the camera would get one in focus it would fly away. After we had been out there a while, the yellow one (an Eastern Tiger Swallowtail?) started posing for me; the black one (also an Eastern Tiger Swallowtail?) never did slow down. I took dozens of photos, but only managed to actually capture their essence a few times. It was worth the time we spent out in the garden, though.

. . .

butterfly in my dad's garden

. . .

butterfly in my dad's garden

. . .

butterfly in my dad's garden

. . .

butterfly in my dad's garden

. . .

butterfly in my dad's garden

. . .

butterfly in my dad's garden

. . .

7 Comments
  1. June 23, 2008 11:00 am

    Those are excellent shots of butterflies! I bet the kids had a ball too!

  2. June 23, 2008 3:05 pm

    Hmmm, good idea, I need to go to our local botanical gardens and chase some butterflies! The ones in my garden definitely don’t pose but I’ve had better luck there:)

  3. June 23, 2008 3:45 pm

    So vivid! beautiful. You could also take a video and then parcel out some still shots? Of course, I don’t know how but I’ve heard it’s possible… Darn butterflies – stay still!

  4. Lofter permalink
    June 23, 2008 8:30 pm

    Great job! I’ve tried on several occasions to get a decent shot of butterflies, but have share the same experience you described time and time again! You, on the other hand, got some really good shots! Well done! 😀

  5. June 24, 2008 11:46 am

    Mercedes, they loved being near the butterflies and learning to respect their skittishness.

    BookBabie, I hope you get the chance.

    CuriousC, lol, I have no idea how to do that. I learned that I have to be out in the flowers until the butterflies become used to my presence.

    Thanks, Lofter. If at first you don’t succeed . . .

  6. June 25, 2008 12:09 am

    Love the first picture of your daughters profile, the flowers and butterfly! Very full of child wonder-Great shot!

  7. June 25, 2008 12:05 pm

    Thank you, Sky!

Comments are closed.

