Skip to content

Vintage Woodsey Squirrels

October 8, 2010

These squirrels are finger puppets (you can put your thumb and index fingers in their arms) and they squeak when you squeeze them.  They are called Woodseys.  This set of toys was made by Fisher Price in 1979.  It includes a male squirrel, a female squirrel, two chairs, a table and a soft polyester log house.  There is a little boy squirrel named Milkweed, but I don’t know if we still have him.  Looking at other photos of this same toy on the internet I was reminded that the set also came with a bucket and a broom.  When I saw the photos, I remembered playing with them!  Maybe I will hunt for them among the saved toys in my parents’ basement.

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

My children love playing with the Woodseys.  I think it’s funny that they don’t exactly fit into their own house.  They are too tall to get through the door and then once they are inside, their heads touch the ceiling.  And they are much too big for their furniture.  But they are the perfect size to be held and played with.

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

Fisher Price Woodseys

. . .

I want to go in their house because it looks so cozy and comfortable with those warm colors and the ferns covering the ceiling and floor. The canned food, the wall cabinet with nine tiny drawers, and the cooking fire seem so inviting. Did you have this toy?

12 Comments
  1. October 8, 2010 10:26 pm

    Wow, Fisher Price used to make such cute toys!

  2. October 9, 2010 2:06 pm

    I did NOT have this toy, but now I want it! OH how I love the older stuff… ~sigh~ (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. October 10, 2010 10:15 pm

    I like the older stuff too! I’m really glad we still have some toys and books from the 80’s. We weren’t able to find the broom or the bucket or Milkweed, but we did find the book “Lightning Strikes Twice” tonight at my parents’ house.

  4. October 11, 2010 3:22 pm

    I had that same set! I loved it. My parents found it a few years ago, and they’ve pulled it out for Zoe to play with when we visit them. Love it!

  5. October 12, 2010 4:06 am

    Ha ha ha… there’s a reason that no great architects were squirrels. Isn’t that true of so many toys, that the beings and the domiciles are not in scale. Lego toys have gotten better over the years, but there were some odd models for awhile.

    • October 13, 2010 10:57 pm

      You know though, maybe children don’t notice. They are not concerned with scale, I think.

      • October 14, 2010 12:56 am

        I noticed when I was a kid, but it certainly didn’t stop me from having fun. I think you are right that children are more concerned with playing and don’t get wrapped around the axle. A good lesson for adults perhaps.

        I think another factor is that the house is less a house and more a case, so it was probably made a size that could easily hold the critters and their furniture, but not much more.

  6. Bill Jolloff permalink
    October 13, 2010 1:04 pm

    I JUST sold this same Woodsey Family collection not more than a couple weeks ago.

    • October 13, 2010 10:55 pm

      Hey Bill, that’s pretty neat. Did you get a good price for the collection? I saw that it was selling for around $35. I’m still hoping I can find our little bucket and broom (and the 3rd chair and Milkweed).

  7. October 17, 2010 11:18 pm

    i did not have it – but i want it now. it’s adorable!

  8. Kerry permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:22 pm

    We had these as children and we loved them! My sister and I have searched all over to purchase a set for my son to play with but ebay never seems to work out-no matter what I bid at the last second I lose.

Comments are closed.

