Skip to content

Bedroom Chair

October 7, 2010

I had an upholstered chair in my bedroom at my parents’ house, but it was a clutter magnet and usually had piles of clothes on it.  I also used to stuff things underneath the skirt of the chair.  Bedroom chairs are like that, unless you are very deliberate about sitting on them.

Before I was born, one of the arms of the chair broke.  It fell off the truck when my parents moved and they didn’t get it repaired.  So the entire time the chair was in my bedroom, it had a wobbly arm.  But since no one used the chair for sitting, it’s not like the broken arm mattered.

Alas, I forgot to take a “before” picture of my chair with the floral pattern!  My parents are redecorating their house, and because we have a house now we can take some of their things.  They recently offered me the bedroom chair and I accepted.  We took it to an upholsterer to be repaired and recovered.  I intended to choose a cream or white fabric, but ended up choosing gold.  It matches the colors in our master bedroom and those in Logan and Charlotte’s bedroom.  I wanted to be able to actually use it as a chair, so when I saw that we were throwing our clothes on it in our master bedroom, I moved it to the children’s room.  Now I can sit there and read stories and sing lullabies and nurse the baby to sleep.

. . .

gold bedroom chair

. . .

gold bedroom chair

. . .

I like it in their room very, very much.  And I am fiercely defending it against our kitten who would like very much to put his claws into it.

. . .

gold bedroom chair

. . .

4 Comments
  1. Mom permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:26 pm

    It looks so good in the children’s bedroom! Thanks for making it useable and pretty again!

  2. October 8, 2010 1:02 am

    I am having total deja vu while reading this. Did you write about the chair before? Maybe it’s just because I saw the same pillow in a previous post. The even stranger thing is this post was listed as an incoming link to my blog.

    The chair looks great. Good thing you noticed its fate in the master bedroom and removed it in time to save it.

    • October 8, 2010 10:42 am

      Yes, you’ve seen the pillow before. Sometimes those incoming links get confused by the blog roll. It happens occasionally to me too. Thanks, Bikkuri!

Comments are closed.

