Skip to content

GMC Sierra Photo Series

August 16, 2010
tags: , ,

As I was taking a stroll around my parents’ yard, I decided that a photo series of my dad’s 1978 GMC Sierra was in order.

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

This truck is older than I am.  When it was new, I’m sure the red paint was vibrant, but now it shows its age.  Dad has had it repainted twice if I remember correctly, yet the red has again faded to watermelon pink.  It’s a three speed with a very loose clutch and disc brakes.  The bench seat is covered in a brown and tan houndstooth-patterned vinyl.  Dad used to let me drive it in the field and on the country roads surrounding their house.

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

The radio only picks up AM stations and the odometer stopped working a couple of decades ago.  I think that knob on the floor beside the clutch is what you stomp on if you want to make the headlights brighter.

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

1978 GMC Sierra

. . .

Though this Sierra’s technology is completely outdated and in some ways unsafe, growing up with this one gave me a taste of what it would be like to own such a truck.  For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted a big, strong, American-made pick-up truck.

2 Comments
  1. August 17, 2010 6:46 pm

    🙂

  2. August 26, 2010 6:43 pm

    I really enjoyed that photo essay. Shame your dad never got any real use out of it, innit? 😉

Comments are closed.

