Skip to content

Immigraniada

August 9, 2010

I heard this song Immigraniada by Gogol Bordello on the radio station WNRN.  WNRN plays music that inspires and challenges me.  You know what I’ve noticed?  The pop songs that I hear on the mainstream station are about participating (actively, passively, it doesn’t matter) in how fucked up things are.  And the songs that I hear on WNRN are about refusing to participate in how fucked up things are.  About active rebellion and intelligent resistance.  My children are into memorizing lyrics and I urgently need to change the ideas they are exposed to.  So I tune the car radio to this station lately.  When I realized that Immigraniada mentioned Don Quixote, I had to look it up and discover the meaning of this song.

This group, Gogol Bordello, describe themselves as “A growing snow-ball orchestra of immigrants jamming in A-minor,” a description which delights me.  I’m still trying to decipher the Don Quixote reference.  I wish I were in the Spanish Senior Seminar on border culture and could discuss it with my professor and classmates.

. . .

. . .

Immigrada immigraniada
Immigrada immigraniada-da
Immigrada immigraniada
We’re coming rougher every time

We’re coming rougher
We’re coming rougher
We’re coming rougher every time

Immigrada immigraniada
Immigrada immigraniada-da
Immigrada immigraniada
We’re coming rougher every time

In corridors full of tear gas
Our destinies jammed every day
Like deleted scenes from Kafka
Flushed down the bureaucratic drain

But if you give me the invitation
To hear the bells of freedom chime
To hell with your double standards
We’re coming rougher every time

We’re coming rougher
We’re coming rougher
We’re coming rougher every time

Immigrada immigraniada
Immigrada immigraniada-da
Immigrada immigraniada
We’re coming rougher every time

All those who made it and quickly jaded
To them we got nothing to say
Our immigrada, immigraniada
For them it’s Don Quixote’s way
But if you give me the invitation
To hear the bells of freedom chime
To hell with your double standards
We’re coming rougher every time
We’re coming rougher
We’re coming rougher
We’re coming rougher every time
We’re coming rougher every time

Immigrada immigraniada
Immigrada immigraniada-da
Immigrada immigraniada
We’re coming rougher every time

Frozen eyes, sweaty back
My family’s sleeping on a railroad track
All my life I pack/unpack
But man I got to earn this buck
I gotta pay representation
To be accepted in a nation
Where after efforts of a hero
Welcome start again from zero

It’s a book of our true stories
True stories that can’t be denied
It’s more than true it actually happened
It’s more than true it actually happened
It’s more than true it actually happened
We’re coming rougher every time
Rougher every time
We’re coming rougher every time
Immigrada immigraniada
Immigrada immigraniada-da
Immigrada immigraniada
We’re coming rougher every time
Immigrada immigraniada
Immigrada immigraniada-da hey hey
We’re coming rougher every time

3 Comments
  1. rosiemolinary permalink
    August 19, 2010 4:04 pm

    Love your observation about music and its purpose– so thoughtful. Now, I am off to check out this band– thanks for the tip!

  2. gio permalink
    September 16, 2010 11:00 am

    they have released the official video of ‘immigraniada’:
    http://www.boingboing.net/2010/09/16/gogol-bordello-immig.html

    i discovered them trough my son a couple of years ago (he was 9 back then)… you cant get bored with them, and as you say.. the lyrics.. oh the lyrics…
    Don quixote caught your attention, in my case was Focault and Dioegenes (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sM1Ahn0Osjo) anyways, i got their whole discography and this october will be the 4th time we are going to see them live.
    so lay back, grab your headsets and enjoy their music and lyrics…

  3. Deuce permalink
    December 16, 2010 10:53 pm

    Don Quixote is in reference to the word quixotic (named after Don Quixote) which means “Exceedingly idealistic; unrealistic and impractical”. In reference to the lyrics I think it means that those opposed to immigration are being idealistic to the point of impracticality since a) America was founded through immigration, and b) part of the reason our nation has been so successful is because of the influx of new ideas and eager workers from immigration. It is an excellent song that I just found today.

Comments are closed.

