Skip to content

Summer Entertainment

June 26, 2010

If I were to blog about summer nights in my ideal world, they would be spent outside looking at the stars and chasing fireflies.  But if we really did that, each of my children would end up with 16 mosquito bites.  So last night my husband dropped us off at Barnes & Noble for some indoor nighttime summer entertainment.

. . .

summer night at Barnes and Noble

. . .

There is a coloring book, three copies of which my son has already colored.  He’s been into this coloring book for 2 years!  With nearly 100 dinosaurs arranged alphabetically, the book fascinates him.  I had promised him another copy and was very excited to find seven copies of it in the clearance bin.  Logan loves that coloring book so much that I thought about buying him all of them.  But, he was happy with two new copies.

. . .

summer night at Barnes and Noble

. . .

Charlotte learned to walk two weeks ago, so she loved being able to explore the children’s section at the back of the store.  She wore herself out pulling stuffed animals and books off the shelves.  I followed behind her, picked up all the things and put them back in the proper spots.  The sales associate seemed to disapprove of my parenting style, but that’s just how I am.  I like to watch from about 20 paces back and let her do what she wants (at this developmental stage).  I’ll teach her about respecting the sales displays later.  For now I think of the Allstate ad campaign “Mayhem is coming” when I watch her move through a store like a tornado.

. . .

summer night at Barnes and Noble

. . .

Margaret learned to read about two months ago.  She loves opportunities to read books she has never seen before.  She found one about horses that had beautiful photos and descriptions that were just at her reading level.

. . .

summer night at Barnes and Noble

. . .

I really like the way the children’s section at Barnes & Noble is set up to encourage them to play with the train table and sit down to read.  We had a wonderful, mosquito-free night.

4 Comments
  1. Susannah permalink
    July 7, 2010 2:17 pm

    I love that Margaret’s horse-y shirt matches the horse-themed book! She’s a girl after my heart!

    I bet you all had a fun night. My husband and I can get lost in B&N for hours….

    • July 7, 2010 11:27 pm

      Thanks, Susannah. She is really interested in horses right now. We always have a great time in B&N. When she was a baby I took her in there for the first time and found a book called “Margaret and Margarita” written in the coolest mix of English and Spanish. It felt like it was meant to be.

  2. July 19, 2010 11:51 pm

    WOW! I cannot believe your baby is WALKING already! Where does the time go? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    • July 20, 2010 7:02 pm

      Compared to her siblings she began to walk very early! She’s been walking for 6 weeks now and even walked down a grassy hill by herself this weekend. It’s amazing. 🙂

Comments are closed.

