Skip to content

Green Valley Book Fair

June 4, 2010

On Monday morning we went with Margaret’s class on their field trip to the Green Valley Book Fair.  The PTA had done fundraising throughout the school year and had $5 set aside for each child to buy whichever books caught their eyes.  I told Logan that he could get some things too.  He started out interested in the little stuffed armadillos.  He set aside one for himself and one for Margaret.

The kindergartners arrived on the bus and spread out among the shelves.  With so many children and chaperones milling around, it felt crowded, but there was so much excitement that I didn’t mind.  I walked with my three children and one of Margaret’s friends.  I was wearing Charlotte so that I could have my hands free.

I was glad to have the chance to visit the Green Valley Book Fair.   All of the books there are priced 60%-90% off retail.  You might think $5 wouldn’t go far, but I saw most children with 2 or 3 books each.

Logan sat right down on the floor to read about Max and Ruby’s Halloween.  He ended up choosing that one and “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown” with reusable static stickers.  Halloween is their favorite holiday.

Margaret got a comic book about a girl with a magic purple horse.  She also chose a much more challenging chapter book about fairies.  Her friend found a lift-the-flap book about Krypto the Superdog.  The children took their books up to the front.  Then they sat outside in the grass and read.  They seemed satisfied and engaged even in the heat and humidity.

. . .

green valley book fair

. . .

green valley book fair

. . .

green valley book fair

. . .

The next time they are open (in July) I’d like to browse in the other sections and pick some books for myself.  The 2010 schedule and directions are on their website.

One Comment
  1. rosiemolinary permalink
    June 25, 2010 6:36 pm

    Oh, this made me nostalgic. I loved the book fair as a kid!

Comments are closed.

