Skip to content

What’ll I do with this baby-o?

March 24, 2010

Charlotte’s sixth tooth just poked through. She was giving me a hard time this morning not wanting to stay asleep for a nap. Twice she fell asleep nursing but woke up when I wanted to put her in the crib.  I made that hard decision to just leave her crying because I knew how tired she was. She cried herself to sleep trying to stay in a sitting position.

. . .

. . .

After I took some photos of her, I was putting away the clean dishes in the kitchen cabinets and making noise as the plates clattered against each other.  It was almost time to leave the house and go to music class.  She heard me and woke up.  I whisked her away to her class and we danced to a song that made me smile.  Sometimes life works out in a way that makes me so happy that I get tears in my eyes.  It’s a trait of emotional vulnerability that I inherited from my mom and passed on to Margaret.  I wonder if Charlotte will be that way too.

. . .

. . .

What’ll I do with this baby-o?  What’ll I do with this baby-o?  What’ll I do with this baby-o if he don’t go to sleepy-o?

Wrap him up in calico.  Wrap him up in calico.  Wrap him up in calico.  Send him to his mommy-o.

Tell your daddy when he comes home.  Tell your daddy when he comes home.  Tell your daddy when he comes home.  And I’ll give Old Blue your chicken bone.

Pull his toes, tickle his chin.  Pull his toes, tickle his chin.  Pull his toes, tickle his chin.  Roll him up in the countypin.*

Dance him north, dance him south.  Dance him north, dance him south.  Dance him north, dance him south.  Pour a little moonshine in his mouth.

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

*countypin means counterpane which means bedspread or quilt.

6 Comments
  1. March 24, 2010 2:12 pm

    I didn’t know that Counterpane means bedspread or quilt. THANK YOU!!

    I have an old book that was given to me called Bedtime Rhymes a ladybug book from the UK (from 1977. One of the stories is called “The Land of Counterpane” by Robert Louis Stevenson.

  2. March 24, 2010 2:14 pm

    “The Land of Counterpane”

    by Robert Louis Stevenson

    When I was sick and lay a-bed,
    I had two pillows at my head,
    And all my toys beside me lay,
    To keep me happy all the day.

    And sometimes for an hour or so
    I watched my leaden soldiers go,
    With different uniforms and drills,
    Among the bed-clothes, through the hills;

    And sometimes sent my ships in fleets
    All up and down among the sheets;
    Or brought my trees and houses out,
    And planted cities all about.

    I was the giant great and still
    That sits upon the pillow-hill,
    And sees before him, dale and plain,
    The pleasant land of counterpane.

  3. March 24, 2010 2:16 pm

    Oh. last comment for now: CUTE, CUTE, and CUTE!! Charlotte’s very adorable.

  4. Emily Cox permalink
    March 24, 2010 10:27 pm

    That song struck a chord with both of us this morning! Although I wasn’t as much worried about Maggie going to sleep as I was about whether she’d make it through class without melting down!

    Wonderful post – and fabulous pictures. Wish Maggie would stay asleep while I snapped pictures of her! Glad Charlotte got some shut-eye – hope tonight goes well.

    Emily

  5. March 25, 2010 12:49 am

    Hi! I haven’t been blogging in ages but I just wanted to come and say hello. I love the photos. If I remember correctly, Charlotte is about my granddaughter’s age. I love this age. Lilah amazes me every day with all the new things she is learning. She takes up all of my time. I can’t imagine taking care of more than one. It sounds like you are doing well with your little ones.

  6. March 30, 2010 12:10 pm

    So sweet! We’re enduring some of that can’t- stop-fussing-can’t-sleep time today, too. “Pour a little moonshine in his mouth” made me laugh — according to my grandmother, her mother and grandmother did just that with fussy teething babies — it was the standard home remedy in that time and place! (Not that I’m recommending it!)

Comments are closed.

