Skip to content

Murphy’s Law

January 27, 2010

If something can go wrong, it will.

Last February we left our well-loved camera in a NYC taxi cab.  I wasn’t thrilled with the replacement camera, but it was better than not having one.  My husband didn’t like allowing Margaret and Logan to use the new one, but I insisted they have supervised access to it.  Several times it was dropped while the lens was open.  Once it was my fault it got wet in the spring rain.  It was bumped around in my purse as I carried it everywhere.  Eventually the lens started sticking and wouldn’t retract all the way.  It got better then it got worse and, on New Years Eve, it stopped working completely.  I haven’t taken a single picture of my children in 2010.  When I think about it, tears well up in my eyes because I feel so uninspired and lost without photography.  We plan to eventually get another camera, but I am sure that something will happen to that one too.  It’s depressing, almost to the point that I’d rather not bother getting my hopes up.

It was my decision to replace the gutters on the garage this summer when we repainted.  The loan inspector didn’t like the peeling paint on our detached garage and wouldn’t approve our financing until we had it scraped and primed for new paint.  At that point we took off the old gutters so that the painters could have an easier time since they were using a sprayer.  The painters we hired are friends and had good intentions when offering to hang the new gutters.  But, they had never hung gutters before.  You know where this story is going, don’t you?  One of the gutters (on the side that doesn’t get any sun) fell off as a result of the huge snow storm.  Snow accumulated 24 inches and didn’t melt until 4 weeks later!  So the pressure and weight of all that snow was too much.  I don’t know when we’ll get around to fixing it.  I cringe when I see it calling out for attention.

For Christmas I got my husband a pair of work boots.  His are in such bad shape that they have holes in the toes and are no longer waterproof.  I wanted so badly to impress him with THE MOST AWESOME BOOTS EVER and ordered them from Holmes Workwear in Canada.  I had gotten the idea because I watch the TV show “Holmes on Homes” a couple of times a week and couldn’t settle for any other locally available boots.  I sometimes make decisions like that because I am stubborn and don’t think things through.  It was a terrible decision because Christmas morning was so disappointing.  I ordered his size and they came in time for Christmas, but they run huge and so we had to send them back.  To Canada.  And the package was refused.  Because of customs duties.  But, that has been resolved because UPS called and I gave them my credit card number to pay the customs duties on a freaking return that I had already paid an arm and a leg to have shipped.  So according to the tracking number, the package is in Ontario, but according to the last email I got from customer service they can’t send us the boots until they receive our return.  Which must mean they haven’t received it.  So more than a month has passed since Christmas and what were in my mind THE MOST AWESOME BOOTS EVER are now not.  Not even close.  In fact, I hate them.

Yesterday I bought a nice white sheet set at TJ Max and was anticipating how soft and cozy they would be.  The set came with four perfect pillow cases.  I was so proud of the good price and the quality.  I ran them through the washer and dryer yesterday and was putting them on the bed this morning.  Charlotte was fussing and refusing to entertain herself as I made the bed.  It was right before we had to leave to go to her music class.  I felt my finger stinging and looked down to see that my cuticle was bleeding and I had gotten blood on the new sheets!  ARRRRRRRRRRRRRGH!

Why does it always have to be this way with our material things?  Please just pat me on the head and tell me, “This too shall pass.”

13 Comments
  1. January 27, 2010 11:36 pm

    Your saliva will get your own blood out of fabric before it sets. Gross but true.

    • January 28, 2010 11:12 am

      What is your new avatar, Saintseester? Thanks for the advice about getting the stain out. Is it set in once it dries? I had to take Charlotte to music class, so I had no choice but to let it dry.

  2. January 28, 2010 2:22 am

    You poor thing! It does always seem like when it rains, it pours.

    The blood should come out of the sheets with some kind of stain remover, unless it was allowed to dry in. I don’t know if you have Dollar Tree stores where you live, but they carry a cleaning spray called “Awesome” that lives up to it’s name. I have used it to remove blood stains (doesn’t that make me sounds like a serial killer? LOL).

    I hope you can get a new camera. I’d even be willing to pitch in a few bucks to help if you wanted to add a PayPal donation button or something. 😉

    • January 28, 2010 11:09 am

      How sweet of you, Brian. I am looking on Ebay to see if I can get the same SD550 that we originally had and liked so much.

      • January 28, 2010 2:23 pm

        Amazon has several of those cameras used for under $150. =)

    • January 28, 2010 11:13 am

      Sounds like it would be great to have around! Yes, we have Dollar Tree stores nearby. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. January 28, 2010 12:10 pm

    hydrogen peroxide also gets blood stains out! 🙂 *hug* things will get better!

  4. January 28, 2010 1:09 pm

    What Kristin said. I sliced my finger with a knife in Peru and it got all over my favorite pjs (don’t ask, long story), but someone had a bottle of hydrogen peroxide handy, and voila!

    Isn’t it funny how we just want to “fix” all these things??? As if that makes Murphy’s law any less true….

    Hang in there. You are blessed in many (other) ways!

  5. February 2, 2010 12:40 am

    People used to say that things come in threes… maybe you’re good for awhile.

    If you can get a cheap, used camera for the kids, then I’m sure you could keep a nicer camera safe. It is great for the kids to have a chance to learn, but tough if it is your main tool. I remember your sad story about the taxi last year, that was a bummer.

    Hopefully they will find the boots and eventually they will be good and lovable boots.

    Remember we call them possessions because we possess them; not because they possess us. Eventually things break, or get lost, or go bad and we must move forward. Focus on your sweet family and the blessing they are and you’ll be fine. 🙂

  6. February 4, 2010 8:03 pm

    The part about the camera reminded me of a bike blogger I read. She carries that thing through all her Alaskan (and other) adventures, and it might end up being a good camera to have around kids. “Tough” is even in its name!

    Here’s a post where she talks about the camera (and you can also see some of her pics): http://arcticglass.blogspot.com/2010/01/fun-with-cameras_19.html

    She also links to the camera she has. A little more expensive, though, than the camera you liked and lost.

    Newegg.com also has some good deals a lot of the time. And sometimes local camera shops have really good sales to clear out their inventory.

    Hope you find something you like that you can justify spending the money on soon!

  7. February 4, 2010 11:12 pm

    My son’s birthday is next week. I bought an SD550 off ebay and it might get here in time. We’re going to do a birthday dinner with balloons and cake. My parents will let me use their camera if ours hasn’t gotten here yet.

  8. February 5, 2010 4:50 pm

    Yay!!! =)

Comments are closed.

