Skip to content

Roller Skating

January 2, 2010

I took my daughter to Skatetown with a coupon she received on the last day of school.  She was brave and eager to prove that she could learn to roller skate in the short time we had together. I hope I’ll get another chance to take her back to practice again. She enjoyed the magical atmosphere of disco lights and loud music and seeing so many confidant, experienced skaters.

. . .

skatetown

. . .

Skatetown is almost exactly the way I remember it being 25 years ago.  The disc jockey even played some of the same songs, like Michael Jackson’s Thriller.  Choosing not to participate in the Four Corners game, we took a break at the snack bar.  Along with her free admission coupon, she was given a coupon for a free small popcorn and drink.  When they organized a limbo challenge in the center of the rink, she insisted we participate in that.  I couldn’t believe that she would want to take such a risk, but I went along with her and she actually did well.

. . .

skatetown

. . .

I tried hard to say positive things to her as I was teaching her to skate.  I also tried to smile.  While we were in the rink, I kept reminding myself to smile for her sake.  I was hoping she was having fun, but also aware of how difficult it is to wear roller skates for the first time.  I could see that she was tired and maybe disappointed that there were so many skaters she couldn’t keep up with, but I could also see her determination.  We skated holding hands sometimes, but that seemed to make us more likely to fall.  What worked best was for me to slowly skate backwards with my hands outstretched and encourage her to take small steps toward me.

. . .

skatetown

. . .

She and I made a New Year’s Resolution together. We have resolved to choose our words carefully.

8 Comments
  1. January 2, 2010 1:42 pm

    Oh, my goodness. The skating rink was such a delightful, yet stressful, place for me as a child. I never got good at it, and it took a lot of thought for me to even do it competently. Worst of all, I never seemed to improve.

    Lovely post, and what a marvelous resolution! Happy 2010 to you.

    • January 2, 2010 2:13 pm

      Thanks, Bo! I was feeling some very child-like emotions there as worlds collided. Delightful and stressful, yes. Happy 2010 to you as well.

  2. January 2, 2010 3:15 pm

    I love that last photo. 🙂

  3. January 3, 2010 11:44 am

    How FUN! I used to try and go ice skating on New Year’s Day and this year? I totally forgot. oh well. Best to both of you in choosing careful words – great resolution and best to the dot for working on some mad skatin’ skilz.

  4. January 5, 2010 4:34 pm

    How cute! I can’t roller skate to save my life. I’ve tried it a couple of times, but spent most of the experience on my behind.

  5. January 6, 2010 11:05 pm

    I wrote a post on roller skating about three years ago. I should have included it in my first comment.

    http://wmwmsblog.com/2007/03/i-regularly-forgot-how-to-roller-skate/

  6. January 7, 2010 8:45 am

    Let her learn sports and coordination activities now and she will grow up with confidence and strength. Keep up the good mothering.

  7. February 8, 2010 12:42 am

    We used to have a place called Skatetown too, with those exact same skates, 4 corners, and limbo. What memories. I wish it hadn’t shut down.

Comments are closed.

