Skip to content

New Ornaments

December 18, 2009

My mom got her three grandchildren new Christmas ornaments for our tree.  The photos aren’t the best quality because I’m having issues with my camera.  We’ve mistreated it and rain drops may have damaged it a bit.  Our photos with Santa are a total loss because of an ugly purple hue and grainy stripes throughout.  But I still hope these photos will look nice with the virtual snow flakes.  In our area we are going to get a snowstorm this afternoon.  Between 10 and 20 inches may accumulate.  We shall see.

. . .

new ornament for 2009

. . .

new ornament for 2009

. . .

new ornament for 2009

. . .

Last Sunday I took all three of them to the Nutcracker ballet.   It was the first time for Logan and of course for Charlotte.  Margaret and I had been together to see the Nutcracker twice before so that ornament is what my mom chose for her.  Margaret is always so impressed by how brave the ballet dancers are to be on the stage in front of such a large audience.  Every year she whispers to me, “They must be so nervous!”

Logan was excited about going with us.   He kept whispering to me, “I love the Nutcracker!”  The only trouble I had with being outnumbered three to one was when Charlotte was nursing and fell asleep right before intermission. I wanted to give Margaret and Logan a chance to stretch their legs, but I wanted to stay in my seat and let Charlotte continue to nurse quietly.  Logan asked me what the point of an intermission was and I told him it was to stretch.  He asked permission to “get the wiggles out” and I told him it would be fine to go to the end of our row of seats.  So, because he is totally oblivious to limits, he took off into the lobby.  A sympathetic mom sitting behind me offered to go get him for me.

Overall, we had a very nice time and enjoyed the ballet, but I was exhausted and my back hurt and I had a “bad mother” moment in the parking lot when a stranger thought he should comment about us.  I was yelling at Logan to stay close to me and hurry into the van because he had gotten distracted by a drain grate.  I couldn’t hold Logan’s hand because I was trying to hold a blanket over Charlotte and when he refused to keep up with me I yelled, “Come get in the van now.”  And a man commented that I could have said “please.”  Well, it wasn’t a request, it was a safety issue and I had already been embarrassed by Logan during intermission and by Margaret in the bathroom after the ballet was over.  I was in a bad mood and definitely didn’t need any remarks from the peanut gallery.

Oh, this post is supposed to be about ornaments.  What a tangent!

The dinosaur ornament is for Logan because this year he has really cultivated his knowledge of them.  He loves knowing their names and he often goes into “documentary narrator” mode when he’s playing.  He has mastered their ostrich-like gate and curls his hands into little stumpy arms.  The majority of his coloring books and sticker books are of dinosaurs and one of his favorite things to do online is play Dinosaur Train games at pbskids.org.

This is Charlotte’s first Christmas so her Noah’s Ark ornament says “Welcome Baby”.  Thank you, Mom, for the ornaments and for the tickets to see the Nutcracker ballet.

7 Comments
  1. evenshine permalink
    December 18, 2009 1:50 pm

    Ughhh- hate it when people feel the need to comment loudly and in public. Then I remember my propensity to comment…never loudly, sometimes in public…

    You are my hero for taking 3 to the Nutcracker. Amazing!

    Merry (Early) Christmas!

  2. December 18, 2009 1:51 pm

    I think in the interest of safety, that parents and other figures can most certainly tell, not politely ask, a child to do something, NOW!

    I absolutely love the dinosaur ornament.

  3. December 18, 2009 4:19 pm

    The kids KNOW when to test limits and such. ~sigh~

    the ornaments are darling.

  4. December 20, 2009 1:03 am

    Oh jeez – people who critique Moms in situations like this need to pull their heads out of their asses. Either they’ve never been there, or they’ve forgotten what it’s like. They don’t know that my prince has just spent the last 45 minutes telling me he doesn’t want to go to Target, and now that the Target trip is over, he’s just spent the last 45 minutes telling me how much he NEEDS a new toy even though he already has 100 of whatever he’s asking for and I don’t really have the extra money and I’m tired and haven’t eaten all day and stop running in the parking lot please just hold onto the cart no I can’t carry you and can we please just GO HOME because it’s been 65 hours since my last shower and I haven’t had a good meal in 3 days and no your penis isn’t going to crack can we please not talk about penises when we are going through the drive thru at McDonalds I know honey but you had fries last time so today is apple dippers and I’m sorry but they must be out of toys.

    Those people can go to hell.

  5. December 24, 2009 3:31 pm

    Good lord. I say please all the time and it goes in one ear and out the other. When you need it done NOW you leave out the polite platitudes. Clearly this dude was not a father.

    The ornaments are lovely!

    Merry Christmas.

  6. January 7, 2010 8:41 am

    Congratulations on not striking the peanut gallery. No need to get arrested during the holidays. ね?

    I love the “Welcome” ornament, how touching and well-worded.

  7. January 10, 2010 8:20 am

    My middle son LOVES nutcrackers!!! So much so that he’ll even watch Barbie Nutcracker~when he shuns ALL things girl~LOL! UGH on stranger comments, and you are so RIGHT! My Dizzle just shared with me that I say please all.the.time, that it was seen as a request rather than a command, and that was part of the reason the littles aren’t listening to me…. ((((HUGS))))) sandi

Comments are closed.

