Skip to content

Soft Black

December 13, 2009

My parents and I remember the very first time I dyed my hair a bright shade of red.  I was a high school student.  They had dropped me off at Hollins for a summer creative writing workshop, and I changed my hair color during the two weeks we were apart.  When they picked me up they were surprised!

Every once in a while during college I would choose a shade of red at the drugstore, but never found one that looked great.  Even if the hair color looked brown or blond on the box, it always looked red on me.  Honestly, if I look at photos of myself with red hair I’m not impressed at all.  I look weird with red tones.

I’ve only had my hair dyed by a professional once.  It was supposed to help cover the grey hair that grows in one section, but I didn’t explain exactly what I wanted and the stylist misunderstood me.  She did a wash with that cap that they pull tiny pieces of hair through, and I still had a lot of grey hair when I left the salon that day.  I cried because it felt awful to have wasted so much money.

About 2 years have passed since that visit to the salon and I have so much more grey hair now.  I really needed to do something about it.  My husband suggested that I not wait any longer.  I chose a color (in a box from the drugstore) named “Soft Black” and dyed my hair on Saturday morning.

. . .

. . .

. . .

Fortunately, I didn’t spill any drops of the dye on our bathroom tiles.  Whew!  I concentrated mostly on the section where all my grey hair grows and I ended up not having enough dye to saturate other areas.  So, as you can see in the second photo, there is still a little bit of my natural color on some of the ends.  Oh well.  It would have been fun to have a friend there to help me get it right.  But the section I was concerned about looks so much better!  I may have found a color I can keep.  What do you think?  Is it too dark?

9 Comments
  1. December 13, 2009 11:33 pm

    Love it! It isn’t too dark and the color makes your eyes POP!

    I’ve dyed my hair several times and have noticed that the bottle doesn’t go very far – even with short hair. I guess you could always buy two boxes the first time and then just do the roots every month or so.

  2. December 14, 2009 10:17 am

    I think it is gorgeous. All my friends try to highlight their hair to hide the gray, but I think darker colors look younger and fresher.

  3. December 14, 2009 12:47 pm

    It looks very natural! BTW, the shape of your eyes is just gorgeous.

  4. December 14, 2009 4:36 pm

    It does have a certain goth-like quality to it. Nice job, though. For me, dyeing is measured by how FEW drops there are spattered around my bathroom!

  5. December 15, 2009 4:29 pm

    I don’t think I’ve seen many pictures of you, but I think you look gorgeous in that hair color and it doesn’t look unnatural at all. I went through a phase of trying to dye my hair red, too. It never quite worked out, and looking back, that’s just fine.

  6. December 24, 2009 11:44 am

    Awesomely babealicious. Do that. More like that. 🙂

  7. December 29, 2009 9:50 am

    Looks GREAT!

  8. December 30, 2009 7:57 am

    You look terrific.

  9. January 7, 2010 8:34 am

    Looks nice. I’ve never been much of a fan of coloring. My girlfriend often uses henna to cover her gray. I have told her many times that she doesn’t need it. So much so, that she thought me opposed to it. After her last henna treatment I made sure to tell her how lovely it was and how I can clearly understand why she does it. And that I will love her and find her beautiful with it or without it.

Comments are closed.

