Skip to content

First Snow of 2009

December 6, 2009

When we woke up this morning my husband and I knew that there was snow on the ground because of the way the light was reflecting, but we kept the curtains closed until we were ready to tell the children.  After a really quick breakfast they bundled up and ran out to play.  I didn’t go out with them, preferring instead to take the photos from inside the house.

It continued to accumulate well into the afternoon.  These photos are from 9:00 in the morning when there was only about 2 inches of snow.  Now I think there is more like 5 inches.

. . .

first snow of 2009

. . .

first snow of 2009

. . .

first snow of 2009

. . .

Around 4:30 in the afternoon, I cleared our front sidewalk and the one in the back that leads to our basement door with a flooring scraper.  We don’t have an actual snow shovel, but my husband has plenty of flooring tools and it did the job perfectly.  I have to go to the basement every day in order to keep up with the laundry.  Snow accumulation cannot be an excuse for dirty clothes accumulation, I say.

We needed some things from the store so I had to drive our minivan. We usually do our grocery shopping on Saturdays as a family, but this time I went by myself.   My husband sent me out while he gave Margaret and Logan a bath.  The road crews had been scraping and salting the roads all day, so the van handled well.

The first snow of 2009 was fluffy and beautiful.  I love how snow makes everything seem so quiet and how it sticks in the tree branches like cotton.

12 Comments
  1. December 6, 2009 2:20 am

    It snowed here today, too. I’m glad we didn’t get five inches. 🙂

    It looks like you’re settling in well. There is something magical about the first snowfall in a new home. I’m so glad you were all able to enjoy it! 🙂

    • December 7, 2009 9:17 am

      Thanks, Kemi. I guess the snow hides the blemishes. 😀 We still have so many things we need to do, but have to pace ourselves. We are supposed to live here for at least 5 years. I long to completely re-do the landscaping.

  2. December 6, 2009 10:34 am

    I will begrudgingly admit that snow does make things beautiful and quiet. I also (and I’ll deny it if you blurt out loud that I admitted it) love the sound of fresh snow crunching under your feet and seeing your breath as you walk. It’s new stimuli for your senses that you don’t get in the other seasons.

    My Kia handles pretty good in the snow too. Not as good as my Expedition w/ 4×4 obviously but good enough that I feel safe.

  3. December 6, 2009 11:07 pm

    Love it!!

    FYI, I was troubleshooting some stuff on my blog and wound up restoring my database from a backup. Unfortunately, I lost my latest post and your recent comment. Ugh. I guess this is one of the drawbacks of managing my own WordPress installation.

    • December 7, 2009 9:13 am

      Thanks for letting me know about the lost comment, Brian. I just went back and made another one.

      • December 7, 2009 10:35 am

        Thanks for the re-comment! =)

  4. December 7, 2009 5:25 pm

    We just got our first significant snow overnight and it’s all but melted away. it was only an inch, if that.

  5. December 30, 2009 8:00 am

    I have serious snow envy.

    • February 6, 2010 1:19 pm

      We have had lots more snow since this first snowfall. There must be 30″ on the ground now and the storm is still dumping at an amazing rate. It’s impossible to play in when it’s so deep!

  6. February 6, 2010 6:17 pm

    I’m more than a little freaked out at the thought of 30″ of snow. Are you guys even able to get out of the house?

    • February 7, 2010 8:39 am

      We didn’t go anywhere on Friday or Saturday. We may try to get out today and definitely hope to have school (although the roads are still bad and the temperature is very low) and gymnastics class on Monday. My husband spent four hours shoveling yesterday!

Comments are closed.

