Skip to content

Pie Cookbook Giveaway

November 25, 2009

On the day before Thanksgiving, I’ve got pie on the brain!  I’m ecstatic to have the opportunity to give away a copy of Mrs. Rowe’s little book of Southern Pies by local author Mollie Cox Bryan.  It was released in July.  This hardcover cookbook contains 20 full color photographs and 65 pie recipes.

. . .

. . .

I connected with Mollie on Twitter when I was looking for local folks to follow.  She and her family live in Waynesboro.  She is going to be at Byers Street Housewares in Staunton for a signing on December 12th at 2:30.  So if you live in the area you can meet the author and get your copy of the cookbook signed!

Are you like me in that the fall and winter holiday seasons have you thinking about pie more often?  What is your favorite memory of pie?  Do you associate pie with love?  Leave me a comment and you will be entered to win Mollie Cox Bryan’s newest cookbook, Mrs. Rowe’s little book of Southern Pies.

Check out the cookbook’s trailer!

. . .

. . .

I have written about the best pies that my parents make, pumpkin and chocolate chess, and now I am feeling “adult” enough to learn how to make pies in my own kitchen.  I’ll be buying Mollie’s cookbook for myself, but her publicist is going to provide a copy for this giveaway!  So, just leave a comment on this blog post before next Monday, November 30th, at midnight.  I’ll close the comments then and choose a winner at random.  You must provide a valid email address in the correct field (it won’t be shown publicly, but as administrator of the blog, I’ll be able to see it) so that I can contact you.  Feel free to help us spread the word about this giveaway.

Happy Thanksgiving!

12 Comments
  1. Mom permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:22 am

    I will be interested to see if her piecrust recipe is different from mine!

  2. November 25, 2009 11:50 am

    My family was more of a cake and cookie family, though I’ve always loved pie the best. It was definitely an exciting moment when I made my first berry pie and realized that I could actually do it!

    Here’s a thanksgiving pie memory. I was making my cranberry / blueberry pie for thanksgiving. We were having a few friends over, no family, and a couple of them were from Australia and unfamiliar with the holiday. While getting the pie ready, I cut my fingertip and put a bandaid on. A bit later, as I was stirring a pot of cranberries and blueberries and sugar (which makes a beautiful red sauce), I noticed that the bandaid was gone. I panicked, thinking that it had fallen in the berry sauce, and used the spoon to try to find it, but I didn’t see it. I ended up making the pie, but I was so nervous the whole dinner. I wasn’t sure if I should say something about there possibly being a used bandaid, in which case, I’m sure no one would touch the pie, or keep my mouth shut and pray that it wasn’t really there and no one would bite into it. I kept my mouth shut. No one bit into a bandaid. I later went into the bathroom, and found the bandaid lying on the floor from after I washed my hands earlier, so there was never any danger, but that whole dinner was seriously the most stressful dinner I’ve ever had.

    I’ve been baking a lot with Zoe recently, in hopes that she is more comfortable with baking than I was. But I’ve only ever made apple and berry pies, so I’d love to have a cookbook with more pie possibilities.

  3. Curious and Missy the Cat! permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:50 pm

    Mmmm, pie!!!

  4. Maureen permalink
    November 25, 2009 9:53 pm

    One of my nephews has been itching for me to make a pie. I haven’t yet done it because I am not that great at it. This looks great.

  5. November 26, 2009 8:16 am

    I have only recently fallen in love with pes. My kind of pie is more like a puff pastry tart tatin though. I just love how delicate, yet decadent that is. I’d love to win this book. 🙂

  6. November 26, 2009 9:14 am

    I love baking, but pies have always been a challenge for me. This cookbook would be fun to experiment/practice my pie baking with. Thanks for the chance to win it. Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. November 27, 2009 4:18 pm

    Oh my goodness!! PIE!! YUM!! I can make pumpkin, but the recipe is so easy, but I have yet to make my own crust…

  8. laura permalink
    November 27, 2009 9:51 pm

    I’ve never made pie crust from scratch. I think I need to try.

  9. November 27, 2009 10:01 pm

    I think I love pumpkin pie so much because that’s the ONLY pie I can remember my mom ever making from scratch. And when she made them, she really went all out. We’d cart home these huge pumpkins–the size of stuffed pillowcases–and she’d have us clean them out. She’d use the Libby’s sometimes, or at the same time, I can’t remember now. But we’d have pie in the freezer for months. And I loved eating them–especially with whipped cream. I will not do the holidays without one. And I think it’s funny that my kids are not big fans of pie–not at all. I’m also a fan of apple pie, lemon meringue, cherry, rhubarb, and on and on. Count me out for pecan, though; it’s too sweet.

  10. November 27, 2009 10:06 pm

    I’d really like some pie right now!

    (Speaking of local folks to follow, I’m cliffgarstang on twitter)

  11. November 27, 2009 10:10 pm

    Love Mrs. Rowe’s cooking and would love to add this to my collection! 🙂

  12. November 30, 2009 4:46 pm

    My love affair with apple pie started when I was young. The first time I had it a la mode, I was hooked. Pumpkin pie is always divine but nothing could beat the warmth of the apple mixed with the cool of the ice cream.

    Then, the sad day came 2 years ago when I could no longer partake in ice cream. My delightful apple pie has never been the same. That is until my mother in law brought an apple walnut pie over from Horrocks 3 weeks ago. I literally ate the entire pie myself. It was the worst case of gluttony I’ve ever experienced but it was so worth it.

Comments are closed.

