Skip to content

Deep Thoughts

November 24, 2009

When our oldest daughter Margaret was born, one of my husband’s sisters gave us a Winnie the Pooh frame with six openings for small photos.  In it we have displayed a photo taken the day she was brought home from the hospital, one of her first smiles, one in a carseat, one from a Davidson football game with the wildcat mascot, one from her first Thanksgiving, and a portrait of her that really shows off her spiky hair.  In our new house, this frame is hanging above her side of the bed.

These days our youngest daughter is looking a lot like her sister.  When we look at the photos we tease our daughters and ask, “Is that Margaret or is that Charlotte?”  Our son Logan wanted to know if he had ever met the Davidson mascot.  I told him that he hasn’t yet because Margaret is the only one who has been to a football game so far.  He wanted to know where he was when that photo was taken.  Margaret suggested that he was inside me, but since the photo was from eight months before I got pregnant I told them that he wasn’t yet inside me.

Of course, that led to the questions about where could he possibly have been if he wasn’t in the photo.  I said, “Well, you weren’t alive yet.  You didn’t exist.”  Then Margaret said, “Yeah Logan.  You were dead.”  And I countered, “No, he wasn’t dead.  You can’t be dead before you’re even alive.”  So Logan started to worry about his state of being at that time.  He asked, “Who was taking care of me?”  Margaret said, “God.”  Logan scoffed.  “God?  How could God have taken care of me?  He doesn’t even have any legs!”  Then we burst into laughter because we were too uneasy to continue exploring those deep thoughts.

. . .

. . .

. . .

7 Comments
  1. Keane permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:17 pm

    *great* story, Sarah – thank you for sharing such a sweet moment.

  2. November 25, 2009 10:12 am

    LOL I too become uncomfortable with the whole ‘where was I before you were pregnant’ questions. They quickly turn into how did I get in there questions and if I can’t even talk to them about nipples, I certainly can’t talk about sex to them.

    Love the pics and the story☺

  3. November 25, 2009 10:45 am

    So very cute.

  4. November 27, 2009 4:17 pm

    It’s so funny What thoughts the kids think of.

  5. refincher permalink
    December 6, 2009 1:16 pm

    Little ones do have such deep thoughts don’t they? When my oldest was 4, she was trying to figure out how, if God was in heaven, He could be present with her wherever she was ; I knew the issue was resolved when she went around the house taping cut-out hearts to the wall in every room, saying it was because God is with us. Now Abby is 4 and is pondering the Trinity.

    • December 7, 2009 9:39 am

      Some of their thoughts are so familiar and I can remember going through the same process as I pondered God as a child. But some of their thoughts are so funny and out of nowhere. It’s great to witness and take part in these discussions with them!

  6. December 9, 2009 2:28 am

    Wow! Deep contemplation for their age. It takes a certain level of peace to be willing to explore one’s own existence. Keep up the good work.

Comments are closed.

