Skip to content

Morning, Glory

September 25, 2009

I remember my dad used to tease me by saying, “Morning, Glory” when I came into the kitchen with a scowl on my face.  I am not a morning person.  Waking up to nurse the baby has been a good way to get me out of bed because otherwise I wouldn’t be motivated.  My oldest daughter already has 3 or 4 tardies this year, and they’ve been my fault.

Anyway, Morning Glory is the name of a flowering vine.  There are always Morning Glory vines with white flowers growing along the edges of my dad’s garden.  It’s a beautiful flower that blooms in the early morning and often the petals curl and wilt by the afternoon.  At our new house we have one with pink flowers growing on the fence.

. . .

pink morning glory

. . .

Happy F-F-Friday!  I will share floral photos on Fridays as often as I can, but we are heading into fall so let’s be realistic about it.

11 Comments
  1. September 25, 2009 9:07 am

    One of my all time favorite flowers. Love the picture.

  2. September 25, 2009 12:39 pm

    One of my favorite flowers too! Wish we could grow them here…

  3. September 25, 2009 3:10 pm

    Hello love!! I also LOVE that flower!
    It’s so stunning!!!!

  4. September 26, 2009 6:32 pm

    That picture is amazing! You really captured a great photo. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Having a newborn baby really throws life off kilter and I think it takes a while to adjust to schedules and time constraints.

  5. September 29, 2009 7:55 pm

    “…silly human, silly human race.”

  6. September 29, 2009 9:53 pm

    I was thinking about mornings this morning, and my love-hate relationship with them. There are certain things that are so special and specific to early mornings. That certain quality of the light, the quietness, the peacefulness (though maybe not with a baby crying!). Sometimes it can feel like most of the world is still sleeping. And that’s probably pretty much true, actually. So there’s a lot of things to love about mornings.

    But damn, they come early.

  7. October 4, 2009 7:44 pm

    I am SO DENSE! *I think* I had an A-HA! moment just now~LOLOL! and DOH! You are AMAZING my friend!

    BTW~my 11yos LOVES the name of your blog and immediately connected it to Don Quixote…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  8. October 8, 2009 9:57 am

    As you know, a very popular flower in Japan (朝顔)

  9. October 19, 2009 4:01 pm

    Hey FW- all well with my fave Quixotic blogger? Bloggy hiatus? Hope you and yours are well.

    • October 24, 2009 10:25 pm

      To say that it is a hiatus is an understatement! I’m still reading blogs, but I haven’t put anything up on mine. I’m just not feeling it. We are doing really well, thanks!

Comments are closed.

