Skip to content

Self Soothing

September 20, 2009

This is our first experience with a baby who self soothes by sucking her fingers and thumb.  It is nice not to have to go to her during the night. More often than not, I am the one going to her, pleading with her to nurse at 6:30 in the morning. As I change her diaper she continues to suck her fingers. She squirms and her eyes strain to focus. Then she sees me, lets her fingers slide out of her mouth, and beams.

. . .

self soothing

. . .

self soothing

. . .

There are likely many of this type of photo in this baby’s future as I am completely won over by how peaceful she looks. During her naps, I desperately want to shower her with hugs and kisses. Instead, I listen to her little sounds and I lean in close to take photographs.

11 Comments
  1. September 20, 2009 11:21 am

    An infant, sleeping peacefully, I believe is the closest glimpse of heaven we’ll see on this earth.

  2. September 20, 2009 3:44 pm

    This is so beautiful! Blessing to you and this amazing, peaceful child.

  3. September 20, 2009 9:40 pm

    She is so precious!

    I would also like to point out that YOUR peaceful baby #3 is becoming a danger to me.

    😀

  4. September 21, 2009 8:55 am

    What beautiful pictures! I’m so glad you’re back to sharing your photos and stories. I’ve missed them and wondered how you guys were fairing

  5. September 22, 2009 10:41 am

    Love it!! Neither of my kids were thumb suckers and only one took the pacifier.

  6. September 22, 2009 10:45 am

    PS: about the pacy thing, the one child that we tried not to use it with wanted it and the one I wanted to give to wouldn’t take it!

  7. Lofter permalink
    September 22, 2009 2:46 pm

    Truly beautiful my friend… what a huge blessing captured within your photographers frame.

  8. September 24, 2009 6:54 am

    ~SWOON~ (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  9. rosiemolinary permalink
    September 26, 2009 9:32 pm

    Oh, she warms my heart!

  10. September 28, 2009 7:43 pm

    So sweet, it may be bad for their teeth eventually but its great to have a baby soothe themselves! My new granddaughter takes a pacifier which is good because she likes to suck;)

  11. October 8, 2009 9:54 am

    That looks so peaceful, I want to try. Do you think the teachers at school will look at me funny if I nap like that at my desk?

Comments are closed.

