Skip to content

See the funny side

September 18, 2009

When I went to my six week checkup with the midwife who delivered my baby, I took a postpartum screening survey.  One of the questions made a big impression on me because my husband and I had just been talking about it a few days earlier.  It was something like this:

postpartum survey question

My parents, who live close to us, went on a trip for two weeks to celebrate their wedding anniversary, and I noticed how much I missed talking to them and having them drop by for short visits.  School hadn’t started yet and my older children were frustrated by being at home with me and the new baby all the time.  Not many people were coming by and we weren’t going on any adventures, so maybe we all had started to feel trapped.  One thing I really picked up on was that I was taking everything so seriously.  I was trying my best to breastfeed the baby and heaven help anyone who threatened our success.  I was not allowing myself to relax or laugh.  Everything seemed like a really big deal because I was concentrating so hard on giving the baby enough milk and burping her and fixing my own meals so that my milk would taste good and be nutritious.  A joke my older children thought was hilarious would make me angry and instead of laughing along with them I would yell at them.

But, I recognized what was happening, and then my parents came back from their trip so I breathed a sigh of relief.  My husband and I talked about what I needed from him.  I made it a priority to relax and smile.  My parents got home on a Saturday and then my appointment was on that following Monday.  I filled out the postpartum survey and told the midwife about my experience so far.  I said I hoped to be able to get my sense of humor back, but I confessed that breastfeeding was taxing my body.  The midwife sympathized with me and told me to keep watching for signs of depression.  I scored an 8 on the survey and she said that a score of 12 or more would have made her worry.  We both agreed that what I was feeling was normal, but that I could handle it, especially with more help from my husband and parents.

Another month has gone by and I still use my Twitter stream to complain about the difficulties of breastfeeding, but at least I am able to see the funny side of things.  On Tuesday of this week, I dropped my oldest daughter off at her school and then dropped my son off at his school.  I was driving home with the baby, thinking I would nurse her and she would nap.  But then I remembered some things I wanted from the grocery store: bread, cheese, children’s toothpaste, and I thought I had better get some pads to put in my bra since my milk letdown is so strong.  So I took my baby into the store and was pushing her around in the cart, quickly crossing things off my mental list.  Since we were there early in the morning, there were lots of employees stocking the shelves.  One employee in the face wash section wanted to “oooooh” and “ahhhhhh” about the baby so I was delayed a few seconds.  I hurried to the baby aisle to see how much the absorbent pads cost.  I saw that they had washable, reusable pads so I decided on those.  And then since I was thinking so much about milk and leaking and trying to beat the clock . . . I looked at my watch and then started thinking about what I was wearing. “Hmmmm,” I thought. “I don’t think I’m wearing any nursing pads here in this grocery store. I hope I can make it home without getting my shirt wet.” Well, that thought was all it took to provoke a let down.

As I went towards the front of the store, I recognized that it was funny to be buying two packs of absorbent pads with big dark circles on my chest betraying the fact that I was the kind of idiot who would leave the house without wearing any.  I went through the self checkout line in a lame attempt to avoid eye contact with anyone.  When I scanned the pads, the coupon machine printed out a coupon with a message from Enfamil: “Thinking of supplementing your breastfed baby?”  it asked, mocking my pain.  I stuffed the coupon I didn’t need into the grocery bag and smiled sheepishly at an elderly employee as I left.

Just as I did with my other two children, I am avoiding the hassle of pumping (I’m too lazy to wash the equipment and the bottles).  I count on eventually reaching that point where my milk supply matches what my baby needs.  Some mornings I fear I am only an hour away from developing mastitis and I spend all day offering my baby opportunities to nurse.  I can’t even hold her against my chest without wincing in pain.  Having to ask your older children (with your teeth bared and your voice resembling a primal growl) to back off while the baby is nursing is not funny.  Being in agony because of hard lumpy breasts is not funny at all, but getting a coupon for formula and thinking of how to respond. . . that’s really fucking funny.

. . .

please send absorbent pads

. . .

(I realize that every woman’s milk supply is different.  My intention is not to make judgments about women who supplement breastfeeding with formula.  I’m just sharing my personal experience.  Also cotton pads are not really working for me, but I am learning to wear shirts that will make the leaks less obvious.  I want to try wool pads.)

19 Comments
  1. September 18, 2009 10:04 am

    ohhh… instead of Fucking floral Friday, you have a Fucking Funny Friday!

    OMG….. I have SO been there and done that (the leaking part).

    I really do miss the chest that came with breastfeeding though.

    • September 21, 2009 11:01 pm

      Gotta love the v-neck shirts! I’m going to do some floral Fridays eventually.

  2. September 18, 2009 11:39 am

    Thanks for sharing! I think all moms can relate to this post.

  3. September 18, 2009 1:35 pm

    Love that you posted that picture! Ha! I almost never leaked with my second–my supply matched up with his needs pretty quickly. In fact, I have a box of 20 disposable pads (unopened) that I never used. Interested? I’ll mail them your way!

    • September 21, 2009 11:02 pm

      Thanks! I got some more disposables this weekend. Sure, you can send me your extras.

  4. September 18, 2009 1:44 pm

    Love the photo. Gosh, what memories (or mammaries, I guess). I hated the letdown response, too. And the hard, painful boobs. With my second, we got a yeast infection together – she in her mouth, me in the boob ducts. Still, even with all the hassel, pain, inconvenience breastfeeding was such a wonderful experience that I will never, ever get to have again.

    • September 21, 2009 11:00 pm

      Yes, we’ve had the thrush infection too. Her tongue was disgusting, but we fought it with an anti-fungal liquid.

  5. September 18, 2009 2:17 pm

    Love this entry and the photo is priceless!! Glad you are feeling better and seeing the humor in life. Your baby is precious!!

    • September 21, 2009 11:03 pm

      Thanks, Brian!! Since reading your Bucket List I often think of your wish for a baby girl. Someday I hope your wish comes true!

  6. September 18, 2009 9:32 pm

    The first couple of weeks were difficult for my daughter. This is her first baby and like any new mother she wanted to do everything that she had planned ahead for, which included breastfeeding. She had a blocked duct and was in a lot of pain. She hung in there and now she enjoys breastfeeding her baby.

    She is pumping so I can give the baby breast milk twice a day but she doesn’t have to worry about cleaning the bottles because I do it. She also has no other children to contend with nor does she have to cook. She keeps telling me she could never have handled it all alone but I know she could have.

    The first few weeks she would burst out crying for no apparent reason. I felt so bad but she is back to her old self again. I guess it just takes time. You sound like you are getting your sense of humor back. The photo is great. I’ll have to show it to Sarah.

  7. Liza permalink
    September 19, 2009 4:45 pm

    What a great post, S! That picture is the best (smart to write over and tag it!). I’ve definitely been there, too. I would have had no shame, though, ripping open the boxes of pads and stuffing 2 down my shirt 🙂 –yes, and paying for the open box at check out.

    I’ve been away from blog reading for a while – thanks to Baby #3 – and am thrilled to catch up on yours these days. Looking forward to reading more! -Liza

    • September 24, 2009 9:49 am

      Thanks, Liza! I didn’t want to imagine the places that the picture would end up if I didn’t write over it. I would have opened the box in the store, but my reflexes were not quick enough.

  8. September 20, 2009 10:18 am

    Buying the pads with the wet shirt has got to be funny, but of course, it’s usually not so funny until later. 🙂

    I wonder if the test is a little skewed. There is no option for finding things funnier than before: just the same, or less. I’m guessing you are doing fine, just because it’s tough doesn’t mean something’s wrong. Keep up the good work.

    • September 21, 2009 11:06 pm

      So true, Bikkuri. I would welcome an even stronger sense of humor than before! I guess it’s something you have to actively cultivate, just like the intellectual drop that the primary parent experiences (they call it mommy-brain).

  9. September 24, 2009 6:53 am

    HA HA HA HA HA! I am IN LOVE with that pic! I am such a COW when nursing~I mean, my darling jokes about having to go to bed with scuba gear on. OH LOLOL! You just totally made my day! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    • September 24, 2009 9:50 am

      Oh Sandi, you are so funny! Do you use wool pads? I am trying to find out more about them.

  10. October 19, 2009 8:47 pm

    Thank you. i just think you are the coolest. 🙂

  11. Pascal permalink
    November 19, 2009 11:06 am

    I was searching for something completely different in the famous web search engine and your very funny photo pops up in the search.

    I love reading stories like these, you made me smile, thank you! We have two, who I really should be picking up about now, and I’m both sad and glad we’re past the baby stage. It was fun, messy and stressful and hillarious at times.

    From across the pond,

    – Pascal (the Netherlands).

    (Oh the FWSE query was for ‘how not to make photos’, no idea why yours is there. It is an obvious example on how to make a very funny one 😉 )

Comments are closed.

