Skip to content

Bugging Me

September 7, 2009

Abandoning photography and neglecting this blog has been bugging me.  I assumed I would have so much to say about our daughter and many interesting subjects to photograph, what with our new house and all the excitement that goes with finding a place for everything.  But over the past two months I have not updated my blog, and I have worried about how I am going to tell this birth story and other stories that need to be written.  And so, even though it is hard to know where or how to restart, I am going to get back in the habit.  I miss the floral photos on Fridays and I miss seeking out opportunities with my children to get creative.  I’m going to do something about it instead of just worrying.

. . .

interesting insect

. . .

interesting insect

. . .

interesting insect

. . .

I was walking near a tree in my parents’ yard on Sunday, and right at eye-level I spotted a really interesting insect. It had a tongue and antennae like a butterfly and, as you can see, was quite photogenic. I will be telling more personal stories here on my blog soon, but I am publishing these bug photos first in order to help me get started blogging again.

Thanks for all of your comments conveying your support and encouragement for our family.  I have not responded individually because we’ve been trying to get settled in our house.  I love that you all came by to comment, though.  Happy Labor Day!

10 Comments
  1. September 7, 2009 1:56 pm

    OH MY. i’ve never seen anything like that. that’s one crazy looking bug – wish i knew what it is!

  2. Susannah permalink
    September 7, 2009 2:29 pm

    It’s a Wheel Bug….and it bites!!

    http://www.insectidentification.org/insect-description.asp?identification=Wheel-Bug

  3. September 7, 2009 2:33 pm

    Yup, you got a wheel bug there—part of a larger group called assassin bugs—and it will kick your ass. Don’t ever handle one of these. Awesome photos!

    Delighted you’re back, and hope all is well.

  4. September 8, 2009 11:34 am

    I understand the blog-neglect…. I’ve seriously been neglecting mine too. Which makes me sad- I like being able to look back at our day-to-day life, as I have a horrible memory. Good for you on starting it up again! I’m going to try, too. You’ve inspired me 🙂 And that bug is really cool!

  5. September 8, 2009 12:25 pm

    Horray! Glad to have you back. In whatever way you’d like! (That bug scares the sh*t out of me.)

  6. September 8, 2009 12:49 pm

    Oh my goodness! I had no idea that the tongue I saw was actually a fang. I’m so glad I didn’t touch it. Thanks for the link, Susannah!

  7. Jennifer permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:29 pm

    Welcome back! I do NOT like the looks of that bug…

  8. September 8, 2009 4:13 pm

    Cool looking bug! Waiting for your stories. Take your time. We’ll be here.

  9. September 9, 2009 3:03 am

    You picked an awesome way to re-enter your blog. We are all happy to see you online and look forward to whatever bits you want to share. (And in whatever order, as well)

  10. September 9, 2009 9:09 pm

    One way to re-find your inspiration in photography is to just start taking pictures. (You might have found this with your bug pictures.) A lot of the pros (as well as the rest of us) find that the first few pictures taken on a shoot are throw-aways, but they get you in the mood or the groove or something.

    I think the same is true of just about anything. Blogging, photography, or whatever.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your new house and the latest family stories! That being said, I’m thinking that summer is a perfect time to be out living and neglecting a blog. The short days of winter will be here soon enough, with all the blogging time that implies!

Comments are closed.

