Skip to content

Weekend Update

July 12, 2009

I’m afraid my five year old daughter will commit a crime of passion.  She’s teetering on the edge of crazy and has a lot of anger, which she takes out on me and her brother.  She’s jealous that the baby’s eyes are blue and shocked by how much time the baby spends nursing.  She asks questions about everything and sometimes I don’t have enough patience to answer her kindly.  She’ll ask, “Where did you get that blue blanket?”  And I’ll ask, “Why do you care?” instead of really considering her longing to understand our family’s new dynamic.  We are working on being kind to one another and expressing our love for each other.

. . .

. . .

My son seems to be adjusting well.  He loves cuddling with me and with his little sister.  He wants to know when she will crawl and when she will eat her first banana.  He hasn’t shown any anger toward anyone.  He’s very accepting and cooperative.

They are getting along pretty well together and playing pretend with each other in our living room.  I hope they see each other as friends and playmates.  It will be another big adjustment when we move into our house at the end of this month.  They enjoy playing in the front yard while we get the house ready.  I like hanging out on the front porch.

We spent several hours there yesterday while my husband and our nephew worked on the floors.  They took up most of the carpet and got a good start on removing the vinyl tiles (which involves using a blow torch).  My husband’s job is laying floor coverings so we are counting on his expertise and access to the appropriate tools.  When we are at the house, I just go around and pull nails out of the walls and tend to other small details.

On Friday I got them all in the van into their carseats by myself then took photos to document it.  We took the baby in for her first weight check and to meet our family doctor.  In a week she has almost regained the 10 ounces she lost in the hospital.  While we were in the doctor’s office, my daughter got 4 vaccinations in preparation for kindergarten.  Our house is within walking distance of her school.  My plan is for us to walk her to school because I think it would be really healthy for me and my other two children to get that fresh air each morning.

. . .

. . .

12 Comments
  1. July 13, 2009 6:33 am

    Aw 😦 Change is hard… even on little ones. I hope she adjusts soon. Maybe the move into the house will actually be a positive change and help her to feel more independant. I’ve heard people suggest that sibling jeasousy might be eased by having the older ones have a special job or activity that they get to do while you’re nursing so it’s not a negative time but a positive.

    Good luck on the new house! So much newness can stress a lady out! Hope you’re finding a moment to breathe deeply 🙂

  2. July 13, 2009 8:46 am

    I don’t know…that look on your older daughter’s face in the first pic is priceless, somewhat of an echo of your son’s in the last one. You’ll have plenty of mischief, that’s for sure.

    They’re gorgeous. LOVE the hair on your youngest.

    Bendiciones!

  3. July 13, 2009 12:00 pm

    That is awesome that you’ll be able to walk to school! I wish we could do that.

  4. July 15, 2009 7:07 pm

    ~SWOON~ LOOK AT THAT BABY! and those BEAUTIFUL BIGGER BABIES! AAAHHHH! I think my boys will adjust to Frances well, but I’m not so sure about Hazel…. (((((HUGS)))) sandi

  5. July 17, 2009 9:16 am

    I am a NITWIT and have lost track of too many blogs/lovely lives this month. Last night I sat up in bed and said, OMG! Fighting Windmills must have had her baby!

    So, a belated CONGRATULATIONS, mamma! She is scrumptious.

    Very interesting dynamic with your older daughter. I guess jealousy really isn’t as bad when the children are within 2-3 years. Now you have proof! Perhaps if you give her helping tasks that only *she* the *big sister* can do, it will help a bit? Make her feel special? I bet you’re already doing that, you smart lady!

  6. July 17, 2009 11:33 pm

    aw. i hope you can find some time to spend with your older daughter. if it weren’t the blue eyes, it’d be something else. i was 4 when my brother was born. i was so jealous. my mom would prop him up with a bottle (which people did then) while she did got some stuff done and i would pull it out of his mouth when she wasn’t looking, just to make him cry. i remember being so angry about the whole thing.

    but he’s still alive. 😉

    congratulations on your sweet baby girl. love & hugs all around.

  7. July 19, 2009 1:47 pm

    Hope everyone finds their place soon in the new family dynamic. The baby is beautiful, perhaps you could tell your daughter how much the baby reminds you of her when she was just born:)

  8. July 26, 2009 5:24 pm

    I left this post on my feed reader for a long time while I thought about your situation, where it taunted me for two weeks.

    I still don’t have a better answer.

    I think there’s a lot of change in her life right now, and she’s probably overwhelmed. New home, new baby, different family dynamic, tired mom, preparing for Kindergarten… My five-year-old is exhibiting the same whiny, clingy, “I need your attention NOW!!!” behavior her older siblings did before they started Kindergarten. I think it’s a developmental stage, and I’m hopeful she’ll transition through it after school starts and she settles into that routine. (Just like the older two.)

    Good luck with everything! I can’t wait to see pictures of your new home. 🙂

  9. July 27, 2009 10:55 am

    No updates in two weeks… I hope that means you are enjoying time with the kids and helping them to understand the changing family dynamics. I will patiently await your updates whenever you have the time. All the best.

  10. Rick Toone permalink
    August 8, 2009 8:38 pm

    Congratulations to you both. I’d imagine you’re busy. Hope you are well, and looking forward to your return.

  11. August 19, 2009 2:01 am

    I haven’t been blogging much and tonight I’m making the rounds. Congratulations! The baby is beautiful. I’m sure it will take time for all of you to adjust to the newest member of your family. I’m looking forward to more photos.

  12. August 29, 2009 12:57 pm

    I have really been enjoying seeing pictures of your beautiful family. Congratulations on your newest member! How have things been with your oldest daughter since this post? Better, I hope. I know it is a huge adjustment! Plus she just moved… lots of major life changes.

    How is the house?

Comments are closed.

