Skip to content

Nine Lovely Months

July 1, 2009

My sweet mom recently gave me a book of selected quotations and poems about conception, pregnancy and newborn babies.  One of the poems that I appreciated most is Dancing Baby by Laurie Lico Albanese.

I felt you dance into me.
Oh, some babies are born
of hot, wide passion;
others in a cool, momentary
indifference with untroubled sleep the
real reward.

But you danced in
with the moon waxed and
your daddy singing a love song
to the sky,
a song with my name and
yours ribboning through it
until there was a chain so
long, so strong, that
you had no choice but to
follow it, to join our joy,
to dance into my belly and
rest untroubled for
nine lovely months until you
were ready to sing your own
love song.

Today is our baby’s due date, which I’m not worried about.  I have an appointment with a midwife this afternoon which I scheduled last week knowing that I probably wouldn’t give birth early.  Actually, I’m feeling a little bit of stress about not being able to properly care for my son and daughter or get started on our home improvement projects (hopefully we will go to the settlement agency today and close on the house).  I honestly like that the baby is still inside me, unborn as it were, so that I can go to the pool and playdates at the park and sweep out the garage and rake yard clippings into a pile.  🙂

Last night I asked my daughter to take some photos of my belly since I am now 40 weeks pregnant.  The baby put on a show by sticking her bottom out at a grotesque angle.  My daughter decided that the photos would be even cuter if her own feet were in them too.

. . .

baby bump at 40 weeks

. . .

baby bump at 40 weeks

. . .

baby bump at 40 weeks

. . .

8 Comments
  1. July 1, 2009 9:40 am

    Those are awesome photos. You look radiant and surprisingly comfortable, and your daughter’s toes are brilliant in that last picture. She should consider doing pregnancy photo shoots more often.

  2. July 1, 2009 10:57 am

    Very cute and those little feet are pretty cute. 🙂 Maybe baby is waiting until after closing and moving to be born.

    Your belly button hasn’t popped out! Mine popped out to the point where at my baby shower, you could see it sticking through my shirt!

  3. July 1, 2009 2:03 pm

    Congratulations! I’m very, very excited for you!

  4. July 1, 2009 7:02 pm

    Oh, what beautiful shots! (The little toes and the smile on your face make the last photo my favorite of the three.)

    You look amazing. Best of luck with the delivery and the move! 🙂

  5. July 1, 2009 10:50 pm

    Beautiful poem and wonderful photos. I’ll look forward to photos of new baby.

  6. July 1, 2009 11:37 pm

    i love baby-belly.
    i love babies.

    The poem is amazing. i wish all babies danced into bellies.

    Blessings and joy! to you and your family. i hope everything goes smoothly.

  7. July 2, 2009 7:57 am

    Great pictures! Especially the ones with the adorable feet. I’m sure baby is just being very considerate and letting you take care of things first.

    Please make sure to tell us your child birth story when you are back to real life. And maybe you can do a refresher post on your previous child birth stories… I thought I read them before but I would love to read them again

  8. July 6, 2009 7:18 pm

    OH such great PICS!!!!! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Comments are closed.

