Skip to content

First Baseball Game

July 1, 2009

On Friday night my parents and my children and I went to a baseball game together.  The teams are made up of college players who come back to their hometowns for the summer.  My dad used to take my brother and me to the games when we were little.  I remember all the foul balls that we chased after and the chants to intimidate the visiting teams.  When the coaches would go out to the pitcher’s mound to discuss a strategy, we would yell, “Take ’em out; Leave ’em in; Take ’em out; Leave ’em in!”  And I remember buying candy from the concession stand.  Each game is sponsored by local businesses that give free tickets to their customers.  My family was invited by our Realtor.

. . .

at the baseball game

. . .

at the baseball game

. . .

It was fun to explain the rules to them and see them cheer for our home team.  The game lasted until 10:15 that night, and the children were really wound up even after the drive home on the interstate.  This kind of activity definitely gets in the way of my best-laid plans for bedtime enforcement.  It seems like every night there is an excuse, especially on a summer weekend.  But they did have a great time as spectators at their first baseball game.

2 Comments
  1. Susannah permalink
    July 1, 2009 9:09 am

    So cute! I spend most of my life at baseball games but always remember how much fun those school break games were as a kid! My husband’s summer team plays on the Generals’ field in Waynesboro, but we haven’t made it to one of their games yet because of our intense schedule.

  2. July 1, 2009 10:58 am

    We have a Single A Ball team (affiliate of the Cubs) in the town next to us. I really want to take the kids to a game sometime this summer.

Comments are closed.

