Skip to content

Put a Ring On It

June 24, 2009

. . .

substitute ring

. . .

This is a silver ring that I bought for myself when I was in high school or college.  I remember wearing  it as a college freshman (when I was, like most of my classmates, heavier than I should have been!).  I also remember that I dropped it off the top bunk onto the concrete floor and the purple stone has a little chip because of that.  I’ve been wearing it during my pregnancy because the wedding rings I usually wear are tiny and unforgiving of any weight gain.  I can’t even wear them if my weight fluctuates just 10 pounds, so of course I can’t when I’ve gained 34 pounds.

As of today there is a week left until our baby’s due date.  I imagine that I’ll continue to wear this ring for at least a few more months.  I’m grateful to have a pretty ring that can temporarily represent my committment to our marriage.

4 Comments
  1. June 24, 2009 12:32 pm

    I had to do the same, wear a different ring becasue my wedding band wouldn’t fit.

  2. June 24, 2009 4:39 pm

    Only one week until your due date. Wow!!I can’t wait to see your little one.

  3. June 24, 2009 10:04 pm

    I am so pleased that you’re “old-fashioned” about the greatest earthly promise you’ll make.

    Not nearly enough people use the words “commitment” and “marriage” together, and mean it, anymore.

  4. June 26, 2009 2:58 am

    What a lovely photo and sentiment. Remember you haven’t gained 34 pounds – you and your baby have gained 34 pounds. I’m sure you look radiant and we await good news and cute photos.

Comments are closed.

