Skip to content

Clear-Eyed Daughter of the Stars

June 15, 2009

I live in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia.  Because my parents took my brother and me to the Lime Kiln Theater so many times when our neighbors Robin and Linda Williams were playing in the musical Stonewall Country, I sing that song to myself whenever I see quintessential views of the mountains or seasonal changes.  Anytime I feel emotionally overwhelmed by the beauty of our surroundings, the lyrics pop into my head.  How many consecutive summers did we drive to Lexington to see Stonewall Country?  At least six times, maybe as many as fifteen.  They say that the word Shenandoah is Native American in origin.  One quixotic, if not verifiable, translation of Shenandoah is “clear-eyed daughter of the stars”.

. . .

Middle River in the Shenandoah Valley

. . .

. . . I hope to quit this world in Stone Wall Country
And as the years roll ’round
My bones will turn to limestone
And my soul will look down
On the blue haze hills of Stone Wall Country
And on the Valley green
To watch the golden fields of Autumn
Turn to Winter white and clean
And then blossom into Spring . . .

4 Comments
  1. June 16, 2009 9:29 am

    Beautiful picture… and beautiful lyrics!

  2. June 16, 2009 9:57 am

    The picture really impressed the post title in my mind. Great shot.

  3. June 16, 2009 12:59 pm

    Your picture brings a sense of peace to me. I can only imagine how wonderful it must be to see it in real life. It’s great that you’re sharing that love with your children. What a great tradition

  4. June 19, 2009 1:36 pm

    Yes, it is a beautiful part of the country. I was fortunate enough to go to college in that area for 4 years and have fond memories of the landscape.

    Thanks for sharing your picture!

Comments are closed.

