Skip to content

Happy Flag Day

June 14, 2009

This is the summer that we are buying our first home, and it so happens that my husband has been living in the United States as a “resident” for five years.  So that means he is eligible for citizenship.  There are details and more details involved in both of these processes, but once we put some distance between the stress and worry and the outcome, I think the American flag will represent those milestones in our family’s journey together.  Happy Flag Day!

. . .

Flag with flowers

The kitchen table at my parents' house today, June 14, 2009

. . .

4 Comments
  1. June 14, 2009 11:58 pm

    AW~this post just makes me ~smile~. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. June 15, 2009 3:59 pm

    Congrats on buying your first home! Even more than having children, doing so made me feel like an official Grown Up. (eek.)
    And congrats to your family on your husband’s forthcoming citizenship!

  3. June 16, 2009 9:56 am

    I always remember Flag Day – I turned 44 on this one. I hope my special day grows to have special significance for your family as well.

    Interesting that he’s been there five years. I have now been in Japan for five years. While I am not thinking about citizenship, I was happy to get my visa extended and someday am thinking about that permanent visa.

    All the best.

  4. June 16, 2009 1:02 pm

    I often wonder if those that obtain their citizenship actually appreciate our flag and what it stands for more so than ‘natural’ citizens. What an exciting time for you guys! When is close?

Comments are closed.

