Skip to content

Symbolism Found

May 31, 2009

. . .

egg gathering basket

. . .

My husband and I have been looking at real estate listings online and then arranging for showings when we are truly intrigued by certain traits.  We have been disappointed many times, as most potential home buyers are.  Although my husband couldn’t go with me the first time I saw it, I met our Realtor at a three bedroom brick house.  She and I were checking out the garage and saw some interesting things.  One of the doors that belongs in the house is being stored up in the rafters of the garage and there are some yard tools in there too.  I like this egg gathering basket so much that I want to either go to the house now and take it (but that would be stealing) or write it into the contract.  The basket makes me think of the sayings: “Don’t count your chickens before they hatch” and “Don’t put all of your eggs in one basket.”  I like imagining that there were egg-laying hens in the backyard at one point.  I would even look into the possibility of backyard poultry for my own family!  And we could use this same basket.

Most of the things in the basement and in the garage are junk, for sure, but some things are just neat and worth keeping.  I am afraid to tell the owner to clean up before closing because I want to be there when the junk is sorted.  There could be more treasures!  That means I’m crazy, according to my husband.

There’s also a trowel in the front garden that I want.  How silly is that?  It’s a plastic toy and I’m attached to the symbolism of it!  Our neighbor works at CVS and last summer she bought our children the Dora and Diego rake and trowel sets that were being promoted at her store.  Within just a few days of receiving her gift, we couldn’t find the Diego trowel.  A year has passed and we do still have the Dora trowel and both rakes.  You might have seen them in the photos from Sherando Lake.  Well, when we went to view this house that we are interested in (for the second time), our children were playing around the front yard.  There my son found the trowel!

How did it get transported?  I’m not used to getting signs from the Universe like that.  So far I have resisted taking the toy from the property.  Yesterday we were there for the official home inspection so I took some more photos.  I can’t really claim it as ours, but I do wonder if we will make it to closing and still find the Diego trowel in the garden waiting for our family to break ground with it.  If not, at least we’ll have a photo of it.

. . .

Diego garden trowel

. . .

10 Comments
  1. May 31, 2009 12:16 pm

    “Plant your roots here” – that is some powerful symbolism. I hope you get the house you need and want.

  2. May 31, 2009 2:19 pm

    Things like that give me chills.

    When do you find out if your offer has been accepted?

    • May 31, 2009 5:10 pm

      Kemi, the closing date was set as June 30th, but there is still a lot of negotiating and planning to be done before then. I wish the agent would put one of those “under contract” signs on the front lawn to scare off other buyers, but he hasn’t yet.

  3. May 31, 2009 6:49 pm

    HA HA! I definitely “see” your treasure!!! Can’t wait to hear that you’re moved in and happily enjoying your new home!

    I LOVE YOUR MIDDLE NAME! We are finding out Monday (tomorrow) if we have a Frances or a Francis! Frances was also my MIL’s middle name, and I’m sure you’ve seen a gazillion times that SHE WAS MY VERY FAVORITE WOMAN IN ALL THE WORLD! ~smile~

    We have cloth diapered all of ours, but after four children they were pretty worn out. From what I’ve used I have found that I just like the prefolds as much as the fancier ones, so next I’ll be working on diaper covers. I like the velcro kind so diaper changes are easier without sliding their go down their legs~especially in winter having to take off any footwear. I like Dritz diaper pins and am thinking about crocheting a few wool covers… Anyway, LOVE this subject, but everybody’s tastes are sooo different! I am glad that the simplest, cheapest way is what I seem to like best. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. June 1, 2009 6:55 am

    I love signs from the Universe. They are such an affirmation. The picture of the basket is very cool and you could actually write that into the contract LOL. You’re scheduled closing date is Emma’s bday so that has to be a good sign 😉

    On a competely different subject, I’m so happy you got another camera… I just love your pictures. You have such an eye for ‘the shot’.

  5. June 1, 2009 7:58 am

    How exciting that you are house hunting. I hope it goes well for you. I love the basket. Sorry, no time to post more today, but soon, soon… I promise.

  6. Organic Mama permalink
    June 1, 2009 6:07 pm

    First of all, good luck with the house and following this path. I love that you noticed and are so inspired by these signs from the universe – I hope it all portends to only good things for your family and you!

    Second, thanks for the tip about gears and Firefox; it WAS on my computer, but disabled. When I removed it from my computer, everything stopped crashing.

  7. June 5, 2009 2:13 pm

    I’m excited for you and the house-finding. 🙂
    This reminds me of a fun story about a friend who was told ‘There are no coincidences…’ – I guess I’ll have to post on it?
    and THANK YOU for the advice you just gave. (and this is the test.)

  8. June 25, 2009 10:11 am

    I hope your house hunting and your pregnancy continue to go well and be blessed! Your photo of the egg basket sparked some memories for me … of Peru. Almost the whole two years we lived there, I didn’t know that you were supposed to have one of those baskets and take it to the market when you bought eggs. I even HAD one — it was in the furnished house we lived in, up on top of the fridge — but I didn’t know what it was for! The sellers at the market would just smile sadly at clueless me and rummage around for a paper bag or something when they saw I didn’t have a basket. Invariably I would break one or two eggs on the way home, for which Fudge, our dog, was grateful.

Comments are closed.

