Skip to content

Memorial Day Lake Trip

May 27, 2009

. . .

Sherando Lake picnic

. . .

We took some picnic food and our swimsuits to Sherando Lake on Monday afternoon.  The drive in to the National Forest was beautiful.  My husband couldn’t believe there would be a lake tucked in between the mountains like that.  He was really impressed.  My children and I had been once before and were excited that it was going to be just warm enough to enjoy being there on the sand.  I wasn’t sure if the water would be too cold.  We were also worried that it would rain, but the weather was nice.  We only saw it sprinkle a couple of times.  My daughter spent more than an hour up to her chin in the lake, and my son made a friend with a boy his age who brought tractors and trucks.  He spent most of his time making piles of sand and playing there on the beach with his new friend.  My daughter told me she didn’t mind that her teeth were chattering and so she dubbed herself “ice girl”.  We don’t own a classic sandcastle-making bucket, but the Mr. Potato Head bucket worked well for carrying water.

Spending the day at Sherando Lake only costs $8 and families can buy a pass that is valid for an entire year (May to October would be considered “in season” though) for only $30.  It’s so wonderful to be able to enjoy a sandy beach without having to travel very far.  We thought about buying the pass, but then doubted whether we would be going much with a newborn baby.

. . .

playing on the beach at Sherando Lake

. . .

playing on the beach at Sherando Lake

. . .

playing in Sherando Lake

. . .

playing in Sherando Lake

. . .

4 Comments
  1. May 28, 2009 1:15 pm

    Didn’t ya know that *I* wanted to come, too??!!! HHHMMMM??? LOL~that just looks BEAUTIFUL! and FUN! and YUMMY! I used to have family in Sherando, but I was so young when we visited that I don’t remember it. 😦 (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. May 28, 2009 1:36 pm

    That does sound surprising that a lake would be tucked inbetween mountains. I imagine it’s beautiful.

    One of the benefits to nursing is being so mobile. You might be surprised how much you would continue to go. We just put a State Park sticker on my van so that I can access any of the parks without having to pay each time. If I can make it to the lake a few times, it will more than pay for itself. It’s my hope that I can get there more often this summer. I’m trying to be more ‘outdoorsy’ 😉

  3. May 29, 2009 11:58 am

    Oooooh it looks so beautiful there! I just love lakes.

    Don’t you love how kids just make friends to play with wherever they go? How fun 🙂 I’m glad you all had a good time!

  4. May 29, 2009 3:23 pm

    We have a lake about 45 minutes (I think) to the south of us. Maybe I can talk hubby into going sometime this summer…

Comments are closed.

