Skip to content

F-F-Friday (46)

May 15, 2009

My daughter is sick with a sore throat, cough and low grade fever so yesterday we combined a visit to the doctor with a visit to my parents’ house.  I took enough floral photos in their yard to assure that I would be able to share a few on each of the remaining Fucking Floral Fridays.

We know from experience that peonies do really well when planted in full sun and on top of the septic tank! The unopened peony buds secrete something sweet that ants like, and the theory goes that other insects intending to harm the peonies are then eaten by the ants. I thought that the busy ants also stimulated the petals to bloom, but that may be an old wives’ tale.  Anyway, if you are bringing peonies inside for display in a vase, watch out for the possibility of ants.

Have a great weekend!  Tomorrow my husband and I are attending a wedding and are looking forward to seeing many of the “girls” I was friends with in high school.  We’ve all either just turned thirty or will be turning thirty this summer.

. . .

ants on a peony bud

. . .

magenta peony

. . .

magenta peony

. . .

4 Comments
  1. May 15, 2009 1:39 pm

    Hope your daughter feels better soon (and you don’t get it!). Pretty pics, I used to have peonies in my old house but don’t have a spot for them here.

    • May 21, 2009 1:03 pm

      Thanks for wishing us well, but we all did catch the sore throat bug. For me, it was mild, but it is bad for both of my children and my husband and our nephew. My daughter finally felt well enough to go back to preschool today. The white and light pink peonies are blooming now in addition to these dark pink ones. I’m glad you like the photos.

  2. May 15, 2009 2:26 pm

    My Dad’s house have peonies on the side. We don’t have any at our house though. 😦

    • May 21, 2009 1:04 pm

      Yesterday was the day that my dad cut down all the lilac bushes. 😦 I think peonies are lovely and I’d like to have them when we get a house.

Comments are closed.

