Skip to content

Snapdragon Photo Series

May 12, 2009

At the Farmers’ Market on Saturday we got the idea to choose a flower to give to my mom on Mother’s Day.  It had to be red, since that is her favorite color.  I suggested snapdragons because I remember thinking how neat they were when my dad showed me how to pinch their sides to make them open their “mouths”.  There is a vendor at our Farmers’ Market who sells lots of colorful flowers.  One week we bought pink petunias that my daughter is in charge of watering.  The next week we bought orange marigolds that my son is in charge of watering.  And this past week we bought red snapdragons for Grandma.

My mom and dad helped my daughter plant them in their flower garden on Sunday.  First she took the plant gently out of the container.  Then, imitating what my dad taught her, she pulled at the roots and wiggled her fingers in between them to stimulate their growth.  Then she placed it in the hole my mom dug and tapped down some soil around it.  The last step was to sprinkle a little bit of water from the watering can.

Planting these flowers was a really nice activity to witness and photograph on the sunny afternoon of Mother’s Day.

. . .

planting snapdragons in the garden

. . .

planting snapdragons in the garden

. . .

planting snapdragons in the garden

. . .

planting snapdragons in the garden

. . .

planting snapdragons in the garden

. . .

3 Comments
  1. Susannah permalink
    May 13, 2009 1:39 pm

    What a nice gesture for your celebration of Mother’s Day! I have some yellow snapdragons on my front porch right now–they are such a happy flower.

    My mother loves Peonies and, growing up here, we always picked the ones that were blooming for her on Mother’s Day. Since she is now too far away for me to send peonies (and they don’t grow that far south) I try to send her a card that looks like them or something similar each year. I have two huge peony bushes out front of our house that she gave to us as an anniversary present–they are full of buds now but didn’t make it to bloom this Mother’s Day. It’s always nice to have a living gift in nature to remind you of someone or a special event.

  2. May 13, 2009 2:20 pm

    Sounds like a great Mother’s Day!

  3. May 13, 2009 6:50 pm

    These photos are so great, and the one of your adorable daughter in the garden looks like a card…one of those expensive ones they sell at Barnes & Noble where you can write your own message inside.

Comments are closed.

