Skip to content

Morning Adventure

May 8, 2009

My son and I went on an adventure this morning.  Looking at the first photo, you might think we went to an aquarium, but as you can see from the second photo, it is really the live lobster tank in the seafood section of the grocery store.  These wild-caught Canadian lobsters were particularly feisty this morning, putting on a very entertaining boxing match for us.  I haven’t ever bought lobster at the grocery store, but we always spend at least five minutes watching them climb all over each other as aggressively as possible with claws bound by rubber bands.  On other days we’ve witnessed field trips where preschoolers are gathered around and an employee chooses one of the lobsters to show them up close.  My son has been quick to blend in with the class and get a turn touching the lobster that the employee has on a plastic tray.

Going to the grocery store with my children is sometimes fun and other times frustrating and awful.  After I drop my daughter off at preschool on Friday mornings, if I see that my son is agreeable I like to take him to the store.  It tends to be easier for me if I just have one child rather than two (imagine three!). Today went really well.  I got a cup of coffee at the front of the store, the brand of orange juice and apple juice that I prefer was on sale, and my son remained tantrum-free the entire time!

There is a young man working there who always has some comment to make.  He usually sees my children “driving” the cart with the toy steering wheels, fighting over whose horn works better and elbowing each other in the cramped “car” and says to me, “Just wait till they start asking for the keys” or “They’ll give you a hard time when they get their drivers’ licenses.”  Today as he was bagging our groceries he said to me, “My grandmother had five.”  And I smiled and said, “My mother-in-law had twelve.”

. . .

lobster tank at the grocery store

. . .

lobster tank at the grocery store

. . .

Comments are closed.

