Skip to content

Pregnant in April

April 27, 2009

This is the first time that I have been pregnant in April.  My daughter was conceived in June and born the following March.  My son was conceived in May and born the following February.  So until this time, April was the only month of the year that I had never experienced as a pregnant woman.  I should say it is very nice!

Taken from a point above my head, this is what the super cute, but very heavy and wiggly baby bump looks like now:

. . .

baby bump at 30 weeks

. . .

We traded our Subaru Legacy for a Kia Sedona last week.  We are processing our feelings about that gradually.  My husband is looking forward to paying it off so he can turn right around and get another loan for an Impreza.  We had just seen Fast and Furious at the movie theater on my birthday (the week before we traded).  I feel a little guilty about that cruel coincidence.

We still haven’t taken any photos of the minivan.  It is a very pretty shade of blue.  Here’s my husband posing for the last photo with our Subaru.

. . .

last photo with the Subaru

. . .

When he drove the Sedona the night we were test-driving it, he said that it made him feel like a dad.  I know what he means.  We both really miss the manual shift and the Subaru brand.  When we first bought the Legacy he didn’t even know how to drive it.  But then it became fun once he learned.  I had forgotten that the fuel level needle “floats” in an automatic, so I can’t really tell how much gas is left in the tank.  Also, we miss all cool things about our dashboard like knowing what the temperature is outside, how many miles per gallon we are getting, how many minutes or hours have passed since departure, etc.  And I miss the look of alloy wheels rather than lame hubcaps.  But in order to have 3 carseats installed comfortably and safely we had to get a minivan.  I think we timed the purchase well so that we can get used to it by the time the baby is here.  She’s due on the first of July.

We’ll tell her stories of that fateful day in April when we decided to get a minivan (and were fortunate enough to take that step to prepare for her arrival).

7 Comments
  1. April 27, 2009 5:24 pm

    I remember buying our van. We spent our Independence Day in the air-conditioned office of the car dealership.

    It was so worth it, though! I’ve never looked back. 🙂

    Congratulations! Your bump looks adorable!

  2. April 27, 2009 5:47 pm

    The week after I crammed three car seats into the backseat of my Jeep Cherokee we broke down and bought our mini van. Have to say that I love it. Especially now that our 4th baby is on the way! 😉

    Love the bump picture!

  3. April 28, 2009 2:17 pm

    Ah, yes. That was a TOUGH transition. Remember last summer… the sky was crying? It was a day of deep identity crisis LOL. Dan was completely unaffected by it but it was a hard pill to swallow for me. I’m sure you will fall in love with it. I did, begrudgingly. Now I am so glad I didn’t get the Envoy that I really wanted and got the Sedona instead.

    That’s funny that you’ve never been pregnant in April before. I have hit all the months at least once being preggers and I have to say winter, spring are nice. The summer can be brutal (although a maternity swimsuit wasn’t half as bad as I expected it to be) and the fall can be too hot. Your belly is adorable♥

  4. April 28, 2009 4:49 pm

    We love our van, hope you love yours too! Oh my gosh you are getting so big and beautiful! Big hug!

  5. susannah permalink
    April 29, 2009 12:47 pm

    Can’t you get three car seats in the back of a Forrester or a Tribeca?

    Subies are a lot of fun–my sister-in-law bought a Tribeca recently and loves it. Most of my friends with kids have Outback Wagons!

    The van will be very nice for taking trips and having lots of space for kids and stuff though!! Sounds like you are progressing very well in your pregnancy–cheers to feeling well in April!

  6. April 30, 2009 8:35 am

    You will get hooked on a minivan in a big, big hurry. Kudos to you both for selecting the correct tool for the job.

    Glad things are going well.

  7. May 1, 2009 7:40 am

    The photo is awesome! – of the baby bump (your words!) Enjoy the minivan for what it symbolizes? => You are a fabulous mom with incredible kids!

Comments are closed.

