Skip to content

Asparagus Goodness

April 27, 2009

The asparagus in my dad’s garden has come back.  He said there’s so much of it that he can harvest it twice a day!  I brought home some of that asparagus last night.  It was very good.

. . .

cooking asparagus

. . .

I laid the thicker stalks on the bottom of the pan in just a little water.  Then I stacked the thinner stalks across on top (so they would get steamed, but not be submerged in the water) and put a lid on the pan.  It takes just a couple of minutes to cook asparagus.  I readied a few cubes of ice in a bowl and quickly moved the stalks out of the hot pan to halt the cooking process.  I think I learned that trick on a cooking show.  I didn’t flavor them with anything.  Last night’s dinner was asparagus, sweet potato fries (Emeril’s recipe), cornbread muffins with butter, and a salad made with lettuce, avocado and red onion.  The men required rice and meat as well (our nephew is staying with us).

4 Comments
  1. April 28, 2009 8:49 am

    Yum.
    And Peruvian men always require rice. I think it’s genetic.

    • April 28, 2009 12:04 pm

      I think you are right. My daughter is always asking why we have to eat rice with every supper and I tell her because her dad is a Peruvian man. 🙂

  2. April 28, 2009 8:23 pm

    That looks yummy! We have some wild asparagus that grows in our backyard but I don’t think it’s ready to come up yet. All your talk about avocado makes me really want to eat one. I can’t figure out why I don’t get one at the store LOL. I think it’s because I normally only crave them when I’m preggers and thats a scary thought to me now 😉

  3. May 1, 2009 10:59 pm

    I’m so jealous of the asparagus. I tried growing asparagus here and failed.

Comments are closed.

