Skip to content

In the Woods

April 21, 2009

I love that my parents have woods on their property.  I have very vivid memories of playing there by myself.  There is one section with pine trees, and their fallen needles made the nicest carpet for my “house” below the branches.  I remember the smell of those soft needles and the safe feeling of being enveloped by the woods.  I even remember imagining that a huge mushroom growing off the side of a tree was my mailbox.  I haven’t given my children the chance to play in the woods alone, but I have sparked their interest.  I’m hoping that they do get lots of chances to go alone.  Richard Louv writes about the importance of those experiences in his national bestseller Last Child in the Woods.

We took a walk through the woods on Sunday.  I saw something (maybe a gourd) that looked like a dinosaur egg!  Since it had been raining, the little ditch that runs through the woods had some water in it.  We enjoyed the challenge of jumping across.  We saw periwinkle and violets and other beautiful wildflowers.  Unfortunately there was a fingerprint smudge on the camera’s lens that I didn’t know about at the time.

. . .

in the woods

. . .

in the woods

. . .

in the woods

. . .

in the woods

. . .

If you haven’t read Louv’s book, I wholeheartedly recommend it. You will relive what your own childhood felt like and be proactive about creating similar opportunities for your children. I bought it while I was in the Kings Mountain National Military Park last summer, but it is widely available in bookstores.  Happy Earth Day 2009!

4 Comments
  1. April 21, 2009 12:49 pm

    I’m reading “last child in the woods” right now- Daniel received it as a birthday present 🙂 I love the dinosaur egg picture! 🙂

  2. April 22, 2009 12:50 am

    I LOVE all the pictures! Great job!!
    Sending hugs and love to you this
    blessed day!!

  3. April 22, 2009 7:38 am

    The little girl by the stream reminds me of myself when I was a child.
    There is nothing better than exploring the woods! So many treasures to be found!

  4. April 24, 2009 2:13 pm

    It’s interesting isn’t it that the woods can create both an atmosphere of peace and of mystery. I’m not very “earthy” myself but I do enjoy a hike through the woods and you can’t keep Dan out of them. The kids love to explore with him out there and remember most of all that they got to pee outside LOL. Ahhh… memories

Comments are closed.

