Skip to content

Sunday Fruit Salad

March 26, 2009

On Sunday mornings we sit down at our kitchen table in our pajamas to eat breakfast together.  We usually get up around 9 o’clock on Sundays and I try to make the tablescape appealing.  The sun streams in through the window.  We make coffee and choose a cloth napkin for each person.  My husband likes avocado spread on toast, I like cereal with milk, my daughter likes chocolate milk, and we all like fruit salad.  We drizzle sweetened condensed milk over the fruit to make it even sweeter.

. . .

fruit salad

. . .

fruit salad

. . .

I bought a big pack of kiwi from Costco (I think there were 18 in there) and so sliced kiwi has been part of our fruit salad each day.  I have also been putting a whole peeled kiwi in my daughter’s lunch box this week.  After handling the kiwi, I was using the same cutting board and knife to cut up strawberries, grapes, apples and bananas for my son.  It turns out that kiwi gives him hives.  For several days I couldn’t figure out what was causing them.  He didn’t actually eat any of the kiwi, but the juice contaminated his portion of the fruit salad.  I gave him cut-up fruit for breakfast or lunch and then gave him Benadryl for hives for 4 days in a row before I figured out the connection.  At least I finally realized I need to keep kiwi away from him.

12 Comments
  1. March 26, 2009 10:58 am

    That first photo made my mouth water. Glad you’re putting that new camera to good use! 🙂

  2. March 26, 2009 12:08 pm

    I really like the radiating patterns in the fruit. Thanks for your kind words, Brian! I’m enjoying using the camera.

  3. March 26, 2009 3:08 pm

    Mmmmm… now that’s MY kind of breakfast!

    • March 29, 2009 4:21 pm

      Yes, I want this kind of breakfast everyday, but it only seems to be possible on Sundays.

  4. globetrotteri permalink
    March 27, 2009 3:15 am

    Yum. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, especially if fresh fruit and muesli is involved. Your first photo is fantastic, but I also like the sunshine slanting through the window on the second. A setting like this can’t help but lead on to a great day!

    • March 29, 2009 4:23 pm

      Thanks, Carrie! We are pretty relaxed on Sundays. I got lots of photos of my son eating french toast this morning.

  5. March 29, 2009 12:37 pm

    What a great mother you are! Serving up a very fresh looking fruit salad and being aware enough to figure out how to care for your son. Yay! Raise ’em up good.

    • March 29, 2009 4:24 pm

      Goodness, Bikkuri, thank you for saying so. I hope I do alright by them. 🙂

  6. You, madam, are no Ambrose Bierce permalink
    March 30, 2009 5:01 pm

    Condensed milk on fruit, will have to try…

    We love weekend breakfasts too. Bit of civilization there.

    • April 1, 2009 4:36 pm

      It is La Lechera made by Nestle. My husband says that’s what his family always puts on fruit salad and I agree that it is yummy!

  7. April 18, 2009 11:30 am

    That looks so good! You are such a great lady to do that!
    What an inspiration for me to try something like that!!

    • April 22, 2009 11:43 pm

      Thanks for commenting, gr8tful. We do eat a lot of fruit. I’m glad that my photos could inspire you to do the same.

Comments are closed.

