Skip to content

Circus Toile Bedroom

March 24, 2009

Do you love toile?  I sure do, y’all!  Today there is a gathering of blog posts and photos at Pretty Organized Palace.  She is hosting a Toile Party!  I just started reading her blog and don’t know her well.  But, that’s okay because we have homemaking and decorating with toile in common, and I look forward to getting to know her better in the near future.

Here on my blog, I have described aspects of my children’s shared bedroom before.  The pattern of the fabric features many animals including musical monkeys, rabbits, bears and frogs.   It is supposed to show a circus scene, but some of the animals are shown doing things like smoking a very long pipe.  Also the proportions are strange, and little horses are shown darting underneath larger horses.  So it’s more like a freakshow at the World Fair than a circus.  The color scheme is based on beige, sage and red.  Because of the sage color and the presence of the rabbits, the circus toile fabric coordinates with the perfect lamp I bought in 2006.

. . .

sage rabbit lamp

. . .

The crib’s fitted sheet is what started all this interior decorating craze.  The crib’s dust ruffle and bumper are made of red plaid and cream colored chenille fabrics.  We use the chenille blanket as a rug for our reading area, or sometimes we pull it out of the children’s bedroom and use it to make a cozy spot in front of the dollhouse on the living room floor. The toile fabric is on the curtain my mom and I sewed together, lined with a cream colored flannel sheet for insulation and blocking out light. The plaid valance over the window also came with the crib set.

. . .

circus toile

. . .

circus toile

. . .

With that same fabric we constructed a 12 pocket organizer that holds mostly lotion.  I like to stock up when I come across a coupon which is why we have so much.  There are a few tubes of diaper rash cream and a thermometer in the top row of pockets.  We used a pattern and the pocket organizer was fun (but difficult) to make.  It is nailed to the closet door because our attempt to install do-it-yourself grommets failed.  Hung at this height, the contents of the pockets are out of reach of my children.  Still I hesitate to put anything in there that would ask for trouble.

. . .

circus toile

. . .

And the toile fabric is also on the cover that my mom designed to help keep little fingers out of the wooden slats on our rocking chair. It is bordered in red and tied with red bows on each corner.

. . .

circus toile

. . .

circus toile

. . .

Thanks for coming by to see my children’s bedroom done in Covington’s Topsy Turvy circus toile.  Enjoy the Toile Party!

33 Comments
  1. March 24, 2009 8:19 am

    What a sweet little room. I so should have picked a thicker material to back my kids curtains. They get up at o’ dark thirty as my husband says.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • March 26, 2009 10:48 am

      Haha! Yes, a thick lined curtain would keep them in bed longer. But would the trade off be a later bed time? Thanks for coming to look at my post and comment!

  2. March 24, 2009 8:20 am

    That circus toile is just adorable! What a great room. That 12 pocket organizer you made is such a clever idea for holding those necessary items in a pretty way!

    Manuela

    • March 26, 2009 10:51 am

      Thank you, Manuela! Originally, I envisioned a variety of things stored in the organizer. But, as you can see I just use it for lotion. Oh well. Thanks for the compliments!

  3. March 24, 2009 8:28 am

    Lovely! Toile is one of those wonderful fabrics that you can use anywhere! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    • March 26, 2009 10:54 am

      Thank you so much, Sandi. I see that people are using it in so many ways! This party has been a lot of fun!

  4. March 24, 2009 8:41 am

    I love that circus toile. How fun!

    • March 26, 2009 10:55 am

      Thanks, Julia. My children don’t seem to pay it any attention, but I think it’s fun.

  5. March 24, 2009 9:25 am

    I think that rocking chair is charming! Cute bunny lamp– perfect!

    And how do you open the closet door? 🙂 Kids are so PRACTICAL!

    • March 26, 2009 11:00 am

      Thanks, Leila. Good question about the closet door. We have to nudge the toys aside with our feet before we can open it. Or else, gingerly slide into that side of the closet from the other door. If we had more space they would have a separate play room and their bedroom would be less crowded.

  6. March 24, 2009 11:54 am

    Nothing like a good pipe smoking elephant. I think the fabric is dreamy! What a beautiful room! The rabbit lamp…. love. it! Thanks so much for joining the party today!

    • March 26, 2009 11:41 am

      Thank you! I was happy to participate in your party. There is so much to look at that I’ll be playing catch-up for days!

  7. March 24, 2009 1:45 pm

    Hello and Happy Toile Day!

    I’m just following the link over from the Toile Party to your place…so happy that I did! I just love this children’s toile print! Love the colors of it and the story pattern…I think it’s darling and love the whimsy of it!!! You must be a talented seamstress…you’ve made some beautiful accessories!!! What a beautifully done “toile” child’s room!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari

    • March 26, 2009 11:44 am

      Thank you, Chari. My mom knows a lot more about sewing than I do, and we worked hard together to pull this all together. I appreciate your compliments!

  8. March 24, 2009 1:56 pm

    Love the toile pocket organizer!

  9. March 24, 2009 2:07 pm

    My boys need the “have you hugged an Abuela today” pillow. My mother in low is Abuela to them! How cute! Love the circus Toile, it’s not seen around a lot.

    • March 26, 2009 11:49 am

      It is a great pillow. My mom found it locally. Maybe you could use fabric paint and stencils to make one for your sons? The letters on our pillow look like an iron-on transfer so I think it was handmade. Thanks for coming by and commenting!

  10. March 24, 2009 2:49 pm

    That is the most precious fabric I’ve ever seen! What a sweet room!

  11. March 24, 2009 3:13 pm

    Love the toile!! I love a good freak show, I mean circus. Fabulous job on the room.

  12. March 24, 2009 4:01 pm

    Hi there! I have always loved the circus toile print. BUT–I HAVE TO know where you got the ABUELA pillow?????????????????? I have a very sweet Abuela who has recently been moved to a nursing home for the rest of her days here on earth and I would love to have that. If I can’t have one I will have to make one! She would just love that. As each of her bazillion grandchildren were born she made each and every one of us a baby pillow with a satin pillow case and we all have them. I am now 38 and would love to give her a pillow to comfort her.
    Thanks for joining the toile party so that I could find you!
    ~Misti

    • March 26, 2009 12:05 pm

      Misti, my mom found that pillow locally. I’m pretty sure it was handmade. The letter looks like they have been ironed on and since the dimensions of the pillow are 8 1/2 by 11 it makes me think that someone printed out the phrase on paper. I hope you can make one for your Abuela! Thanks for visiting.

  13. March 24, 2009 5:36 pm

    I love toile too. It just adds life to a room. I’ve never seen a toile shoebag before. Your curtains are charming.

    • March 26, 2009 12:46 pm

      Thank you, Kathy. I like how toile is like an open storybook, which is why it works well in a child’s bedroom.

  14. March 24, 2009 8:10 pm

    Oh I love your toile pieces. That shoe holder is fabulous. So creative. Thanks for sharing.

  15. March 24, 2009 8:21 pm

    What a cute room!

  16. March 25, 2009 9:48 am

    Thanks for all the photos. The room is very fun.

    Partly from your inspiration, partly from getting all my files organized on the new computer, I am committed to post several photos this week. Ideally I want to be posting at least a couple photos from Japan every week. We’ll see what the new year holds. (Today was the end of the school year.)

    • March 26, 2009 12:52 pm

      Thanks for saying so, Bikkuri. I hope the start of the new school year goes well for you and your students. I always like seeing photos on my friends’ blogs.

  17. March 26, 2009 11:38 am

    I may have said this the last time you posted about toile, but I love it! I’m a sucker for toile!!

Comments are closed.

