Skip to content

Stitched Clown Photo Series

March 19, 2009

These photos are of the colorful stitches in a clown quilt that was made for me.  The woman who made it is one of the women I am named after.  Her initials are in the bottom right corner and when I saw it, I immediately remembered that she had given it to me.  Last weekend I was helping my parents move some quilts and blankets out of their linen closet so that my husband could replace the carpet in the hallway.  I found this and took it home to photograph.  Handmade quilts and blankets are some of my favorite things in the world.  And I love how our eyes perceive cross stitch from far away, contrasted with how the camera perceives the stitches in macro.  I like to look at it in pieces like this.

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

handmade clown quilt

. . .

4 Comments
  1. rosiemolinary permalink
    March 19, 2009 12:06 pm

    Oh, it’s gorgeous! Will you do something at home with it or is it going back to mom and dad’s?

    • March 30, 2009 4:17 pm

      Thank you, Rosie. I get to keep it, but I’m not sure how to use it. For now, it is draped over the side of the crib.

  2. March 22, 2009 7:04 am

    Oh, how pretty! I love handstitched things too. Your photos are so beautiful!

Comments are closed.

