Skip to content

Birthday Cupcakes

March 18, 2009

Rosie, this one is for you!  I know how much you love cupcakes.  On her St. Patrick’s Day birthday, my daughter wanted to take brownies to preschool to share with her teachers and classmates, but I wanted to make sure that the serving size was as small as possible.  The children go wild on sugar highs when they get treats after lunch.  So, I cooked a batch of brownies in mini cupcakes.

The brownies were made with 1/2 cup coconut oil and 2 eggs from local pastured hens.  I got 44 mini cupcakes out of one mix, just to give you an idea of how teeny tiny they were.  The frosting is Cherrybrook Kitchen brand.  It is based on confectionery sugar and palm oil.  I was very happy with the taste of this brand of frosting.  Especially if you compare the ingredients list to a more well-known brand, you will be impressed.  I needed the brownie cupcakes to be frosted so that I could make the tops green and coordinate them with the shamrock-printed liners.

We celebrated one day late since she was out sick at the beginning of the week.

. . .

mini cupcake

. . .

2 Comments
  1. March 19, 2009 9:26 am

    Happy (late) Birthday!!

  2. rosiemolinary permalink
    March 19, 2009 12:05 pm

    That is the CUTEST idea. How clever. And birthday brownie cupcakes? That’s like two for one heaven for me right there. Happy belated birthday to your girl! I think you found the perfect way to celebrate in a meaningful, fun and relatively healthy way.

Comments are closed.

