Skip to content

Chocolate Chess Pie

March 9, 2009

My mom made chocolate chess pie for our dessert yesterday.  My husband loves desserts, but this was so rich that he couldn’t finish his piece.  I finished my piece and the rest of his!

. . .

chocolate chess pie

. . .

Here is my mom’s recipe for the pie pictured above.
Filling:
½ stick butter
1 ½ cups sugar
3 heaping tablespoons cocoa
2 eggs beaten
1 small can evaporated milk (5.33 oz)
1 teaspoon vanilla

Melt butter in a saucepan. Remove from heat and add all other ingredients. I usually mix the cocoa and sugar in first. Pour into an unbaked pie shell. Bake at 325 degrees for 35 minutes.

Pie crust pastry:
½ stick butter chopped into pieces
1/6 cup Crisco
1 cup flour
3 tablespoons ice water

Cut margarine and Crisco into flour with pastry blender. When completely mixed, add 3 tablespoons ice water. Using a spoon, blend the ice water into the flour mixture. Knead by hand until smooth, and completely cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate about an hour and roll out into a circle for the pie pan. Cut away excess and crimp edges as desired.

. . .

13 Comments
  1. March 9, 2009 1:36 pm

    I don’t know what chocolate chess pie is, but it looks (and sounds!) delicious! Rich? Chocolaty?

    Yummmmm.

  2. March 9, 2009 1:37 pm

    I also want to say how much I love your mom’s china. 🙂

    • March 9, 2009 8:27 pm

      Thanks, Kemi. I asked my mom for the recipe if you’d like to try it. I think Chocolate Chess Pie might be a Southern treat. I’ll let my parents know that you admire their china.

  3. March 9, 2009 2:24 pm

    I am unfamiliar with “chess” pie. Would you share the recipe?

    • March 9, 2009 8:28 pm

      Yes, Mrs. Chili. I have not attempted it myself, but my mom was willing to share her version of this recipe. It is so very yummy.

  4. March 9, 2009 6:18 pm

    Lea makes a kickass classic chess pie and chocolate chess pie. I have a slight preference for the latter, but I think my dad would eat the former until he was sick.

    • March 9, 2009 8:34 pm

      I don’t think I’ve ever tried a classic chess pie, Bo. Is that like an egg custard or buttermilk based pie? I have loved this chocolate chess pie since I was little. The way my daughter ate her piece yesterday was so funny. She left the pastry crust untouched, and managed to scrape off and eat all of the chocolate filling.

  5. March 10, 2009 9:26 am

    My mother has always made a chess pie, though she’s from the north. It doesn’t involve any chocolate. It’s like a pecan pie, but has dates and nuts. Traditional around the holidays.

    The chocolate version looks yummy- and rich.

  6. March 10, 2009 9:42 am

    Sounds dangerously delicious. Feeling a little ill today or I might be even more tempted.

  7. March 11, 2009 6:49 pm

    I don’t think there’s much in it but butter, eggs, and sugar, with maybe a little bit of flour. To me it tastes like pecan pie without the pecans. I had not heard of the other inclusions Evershine mentions. Interesting.

  8. March 14, 2009 9:34 pm

    Oh, oh, oh. Yum.

  9. Renee permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:31 pm

    I went in search of a chocolate chess pie recipe and this one sounded like the ones I used to make years ago.
    I don’t make crusts, so I bought them and I shouldn’t have bought a deep dish. However, the pie was delicious and I have been asked to make another by my oh so picky daughter!! Thanks.

    • April 22, 2009 11:38 pm

      You’re welcome, Renee. Thanks for commenting about my mom’s recipe! I’m glad that you all like it.

Comments are closed.

