Skip to content

F-F-Friday (36)

March 6, 2009

You’ll look like a photograph of yourself
taken from far far away
and I won’t know what to do
and I won’t know what to say
except, fuck you
and your untouchable face
and, fuck you
for existing in the first place
who am I?
that I should be vying for your touch
who am I?
bet you can’t even tell me that much

I started listening to Ani DiFranco’s music in 1997 so this song, Untouchable Face, was one of the first that resonated with me.  The chorus is achingly whispered, not shouted.  The tone conveys resignation and the blame is clearly on herself, even though the lyrics may suggest otherwise.  At the concert on Wednesday, people in the audience sang along softly during this song, happy now that Ani is happy but still entertained by the older songs from when she wasn’t.  I can always relate, anywhere on the spectrum.

. . .

flowering bush

. . .

Here is a photograph from August 2008, taken at the arboretum.  I neglected to make a note of what kind of bush it is.  It doesn’t have anything to do with the song, except that the curse word in the lyrics fits in well on this fine Fucking Floral Friday.

4 Comments
  1. March 10, 2009 8:13 am

    I don’t know what type of bush that actually is, but I’ve heard them referred to as butterfly bushes. Of course, any pretty floral bush is a butterfly magnet!

    • March 20, 2009 8:14 am

      The arboretum puts plaques on each plant and tree, so I can go look up its name sometime. There were some butterflies around it if I recall correctly. 🙂

  2. March 14, 2009 9:33 pm

    Yes, she almost sings it flirtatiously, which considering the lyrics convey so many other more hostile emotions is quite a feat.

Comments are closed.

