Skip to content

Trying My Luck

February 23, 2009

My husband left our digital camera in the front seat of a NYC taxi cab on February 22, 2009, and I am doing all I can to recover it.  I usually have good luck, so I might as well put the request out there and see if anyone has found it.

yellow nyc hybrid cabWe were riding in a yellow hybrid taxi cab from The Pyramid Club on Avenue A to the place we were staying the night.  We were dropped off in the Chelsea district on 8th Avenue early Sunday morning.  It was around 1:45 am and my husband felt the camera slip out of his coat pocket as he was drifting to sleep in the front seat.  I was in the back seat and noticed that he had fallen asleep.  When we got out of the taxi, he shut the door and then remembered to check his pocket.  If only he had checked his pocket before he shut the door!  But he was too sleepy to react.  The cabbie drove away and my husband stood frozen with regret on the sidewalk.  We had been dancing to eighties music and had taken nearly a hundred photos of our adventures in the city that Saturday.  I took photos of us packing the car in Philadelphia where we met up with a friend, of my friend’s cat on the dining room table of her apartment, of our roast duck lunch in Chinatown, of one of my friends in front of a street sign bearing his last name, of the view from the 86th floor of the Empire State Building, carefully framed foodie photos of our expensive late-night dinner and drinks at Spice Market, and of us dancing in the club.  The best of these photos were intended to enhance the blog post about our trip which will probably never be written.  Without my camera I feel like I have lost the strength in my voice.  That camera was such an integral part of my storytelling.  And I was the only one out of all of us who was taking any photos, so we were all counting on my documentation of our weekend together.  How depressing!

At the suggestion of the Taxi and Limousine Commission, I have called the lost and found of all eight police precincts to inquire about it, but since I don’t have the name of our driver or his taxi cab’s medallion number they can’t really help me.  I subscribed to the blog ifoundyourcamera.net in hopes of being reunited with the camera that way.  Apparently there is a new entry published each Thursday, and I can wait and see if our photos are ever posted.  The only other thing I know to do is write this plea and ask to be contacted.  It is a silver-beige PowerShot SD550 in a black soft case.  I really want it back.  Please.  I’ve become dependent on it.

14 Comments
  1. Lofter permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:21 pm

    Good luck, my friend. I’ll be praying that your camera found the hands of an honest person, and that you’ll be reunited soon. I might suggest that you check the local pawn shops though… just in case.

  2. February 23, 2009 7:28 pm

    Oh no I’m so sorry!! 😦 If you can’t find it, please let me know. We have an older digital camera that we no longer use- I would love to give it to you. It’s not the greatest, but at least it’s a camera! 😦 😦

  3. February 23, 2009 7:59 pm

    I would just die if I lost my camera. Die die die – especially if it was full of photos. Way back when I used to use film, I got my pictures back, once. They were all of some other family!!! The lab must have mixed our rolls up; we never figured it out.

  4. February 23, 2009 10:32 pm

    Prayers that it is returned and I agree with the other commenter about checking the pawn shops. I know it is a long stretch but that can’t check the logs of the drivers for that company to see who was in that area?

  5. February 23, 2009 11:17 pm

    That’s terrible. My wasband is a bird photographer and had a lot of his equipment stolen out of his car a few months ago. He had left the stuff in the car while he was rushing to photograph some bird. In his rush he forgot to lock the car.

    I hope you get it back. What did the taxi company say about it? I’m really sorry this happened to you.

  6. February 24, 2009 9:44 am

    Que pena. Suerte. Espero que lo encuentres.

  7. February 24, 2009 12:33 pm

    i can only imagine how you must feel. my fingers are crossed for you and the safe return of your camera.

  8. February 24, 2009 5:31 pm

    It gives me a tummy ache just to think of it. I was going to suggest that blog but I see you’re already keeping your eye on it. Here’s hoping for a little NYC miracle:)

  9. thebeadden permalink
    February 24, 2009 9:03 pm

    I hope you get your camera back. Sorry.

  10. February 25, 2009 8:18 pm

    This is heartbreaking!! I feel so badly for you, especially since you had so many memories packed on that camera. Maybe someone will be kind enough to turn it over to authorities.

  11. February 26, 2009 10:05 am

    Remember that it is just a thing and let it go. Now that I said that, I hope you find it back in your hands soon. In my ideal world, the driver would be doing everything possible to get it back to you, because in that world everyone cares so much about doing what is right and helping their fellow man.

    Just for the record, Japan might be that place. I lost a couple 10,000 yen bills from my pocket while riding my bike home from the bank. Not only did the finder turn the money in, they refused to accept any form of thanks: cash, note, present…

  12. February 28, 2009 7:57 am

    Oh FW! I know that it must be such a tragic loss for you. You have always used your camera so much 😦 I’m so sorry. I hope that you are reunited with it quickly.

  13. March 4, 2009 5:16 am

    Wow, that sucks. All the best to you.

    I left my wallet in a cab when I lived in Orlando. I don’t know how I did it, but two hours later, I tracked down the cab (through the base station) and got it back. So, you never know.

    Also, I’d put it out there that if nothing else, please send you the memory card from it so that you at least have those pictures you’ve already taken. People don’t usually think to return PART of the camera if they don’t intend on returning it.

    • March 4, 2009 6:26 am

      When the battery dies, I don’t know how the camera will be useable if someone is planning on keeping it or selling it. It uses a rechargeable battery and we have the charger! Yes, I would at least like to have the memory card! I need to call those police precincts again to follow up.

Comments are closed.

