Skip to content

F-F-Friday (34)

February 20, 2009

Every Friday I post at least one photo of flowers on my blog to celebrate Fucking Floral Friday. I am seeing daffodils in the stores for sale, so it won’t be long before they start coming up in my parents’ flower garden. We’ve already noticed that they have pushed through the soil alongside tulips and crocus. I will be so glad to resume photographing “real” flowers once they start blooming. Here is another photo of flowers for sale that I took two weeks ago.

. . .

flowers for sale

. . .

And here is what happened when I used the “invert colors” tool in the Paint program. Funky!

. . .

flowers for sale (inverted colors)

. . .

Thank goodness it’s Friday! I hope you’re having a good one! I’m traveling by car to NYC this weekend for a quick trip to visit some friends from college.  So, come by and see my blog’s new theme (thank you Jestro and wordpress.com!) and take advantage of this fancy-pants comment nesting that has been enabled (thank you wordpress.com!  love you!  mwah!).  I currently have it set on 3-tier nesting.  I won’t have any time to play online this weekend (notice that I am choosing Vigilance as my blog’s theme and then choosing not to be vigilant), but I will see how it turns out once I get back home.

10 Comments
  1. February 20, 2009 10:35 am

    I like this look. It’s a little bit softer than your earlier theme, and I LOVE the new header. 🙂

    I also love the comment nesting. Is this available in all styles now, or just in this one?

    • February 20, 2009 10:59 am

      Thanks, Kemi! I like having a photo up top for a change. All styles can have comment nesting. As the blog author, just go to Settings: Discussion and choose how many tiers you would like. Cool, right?

  2. February 20, 2009 11:12 am

    I just LOVE the inverted picture! 🙂 And I love your new picture up at the top- it’s beautiful 🙂

    So you know how you invited me to join the joel salatin fan club page on facebook? Someone on there put a link to a website called “sustainable traditions” which I joined. On that website, I met a military family in San Antonio who want to be farmers like us! 🙂 The wife’s name is Rachel, and she went with us to a gardening class at our church last night. Anyhow, point being, it’s because of you that we met them! So thanks!! 🙂 We love meeting new people, and I think we have a lot in common with this family.

    Enjoy your trip to new york– I love road trips! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I bet it’s a beautiful drive.

    • February 20, 2009 12:09 pm

      That’s great, Kristin. I’ve never been able to actually meet someone in real life that I first met online. It must be fun! I’m hoping our drive is nice. It’s our first time to attempt it.

  3. February 20, 2009 12:00 pm

    Why is it “F*#king Floral Friday?”

    • February 20, 2009 12:11 pm

      It’s a meme-esque weekly photo swap that Saintseester came up with. I started participating 34 weeks ago. You’re supposed to make it all the way to 52 weeks. I think the curse word is incorporated in the title in case you need to blow off any steam or share any annoyances you’ve had that week. Sometimes the participants change it to Funky Floral Friday, or Fall Foliage Friday, or whatever fits.

  4. February 20, 2009 4:14 pm

    lOVE THE FLOWERS AND THE INVERSION… oops… Sorry for the caps lock. Anyway, going to check out my blog and set up comment nesting.

  5. February 20, 2009 5:12 pm

    I love the funky inverted photo. Photo editing is fun, but a major time sink if you are not careful.

  6. February 22, 2009 10:14 am

    The new theme looks good, but the location of the comments link is annoying. Once I have read the entry and want to post, I am at the bottom. I have to scroll up to click for comments. Then, of course, I am at the top and the place to comment is… at the bottom. There are so many themes that seem good, but have some bit of goofiness like this.

    I might poke around with Vigilance, but in the end I probably have to invest the time and money into making my own.

    I think it should be Fabulous (or Fantastic) Floral Fridays.

  7. February 28, 2009 5:21 am

    I love the “inverted” photo you did with PAINT! Might have to try that myself! Sorry to hear that you lost your camera. I would be very upset if that happened to me. I’m enjoying your blog…

Comments are closed.

