Skip to content

Tuckered Out

February 17, 2009

When I realized I couldn’t hear him playing or chatting, I went on a search.  I peeked into his room, but didn’t hear or see him.  So I checked the bathroom.  Then I checked my bedroom, hoping he wasn’t smearing lipstick on the carpet or doodling with a marker on our comforter.  I looked in my closet.  Then I nervously went back to the children’s room to look more carefully.  I was running out of ideas of places that he could be when I lifted the dust ruffle of the crib.  He was asleep under there!

. . .

naptime under the crib

. . .

We had gotten up very early on Monday morning to get ready for my ultrasound appointment.  Essentially, we added two hours to our day (compared to the late start we usually have).  My son repeatedly asked me, “Is it the afternoon?” during the remainder of the morning.  It looks like he might have been playing hide and seek with his sister when sleepiness caught up with him.

I love looking at him during naptime. If you like looking at naptime photos, check out some of the ones I have posted in the past.

Naptime (from October 8, 2007)

More Naptime Pictures (from November 8, 2007)

What a Mess (from December 12, 2007)

Another Indecent Nap (from December 23, 2007)

Some More Naptime Photos (from January 16, 2008 )

Long Winter Naps (from January 23, 2008 )

Naps and Smiles (from January 29, 2008 )

Sleep Deprived (from February 16, 2008 )

Irreconcilable (from March 16, 2008 )

Letter H for Hungry (from April 9, 2008 )

Nappy Hair (from June 12, 2008 )

. . .

10 Comments
  1. February 17, 2009 5:07 pm

    That is so cute. He looks so content. I love sleeping baby photos. They look so innocent. How is the pregnancy going? My daughter is doing well. I can’t wait to have a sleeping baby in our house. I’ll even put up with the crying baby just to have a baby around.

  2. February 17, 2009 10:23 pm

    I love the phrase “tuckered out”. I don’t know why, it just has such a nice ring to me. 🙂 And what a cute picture– I’m glad you found him!

  3. February 18, 2009 8:03 am

    Sweet!!! Sleeping adult photos are pretty cool too. Something about being in a relaxed and trusting state that makes people more attractive. I was wishing I could have done this at school today. I also got up early to make sure there wasn’t any commute-delaying snow. We had a lot of excitement today as well: morning earthquake and English assembly at school. I’m tuckered out!

  4. February 18, 2009 9:40 am

    How funny, cute & sweet! Under the crib. I guess if he couldn’t climb in the crib for a nap, he’d climb under.

  5. February 19, 2009 2:14 pm

    Thanks, Joan! My pregnancy is going perfectly. I think I am carrying a very wiggly little girl, though. I feel her moving ALL THE TIME. It’s nice.

    Kristin, I love the phrase too. I even googled it to find out it’s origins. I thought it fit really well with this photo. You aren’t kidding! It sure is a good thing I found him.

    Bikkuri, being at school all day used to make me so tired I would nap in the English teachers’ room for 10 minutes at a time. I’m glad you’re recovering from that exciting morning!

    Randomability, I think he doesn’t realize how sleepy he is until it’s too late. Like last year when he fell asleep in the pile of books. He likes to hide under there when they are playing hide and seek.

  6. February 19, 2009 2:26 pm

    That is so so sweet!!! Please take care of yourself these days!
    We want a healthy baby there!!! Miss talking to you more, I’ll
    try to stop by more often!! HUGS!!

  7. February 23, 2009 1:00 pm

    adorable. so pure.

    and the pic at top is so unique.

    LOVE the new theme. mine was changed by accident, lol… Careless clicking.

  8. March 14, 2009 9:35 pm

    How is the pregnancy going? From memory you don’t know what you’re having yet, is that right? And how far along are you?

    • March 15, 2009 10:57 am

      Today I am 24 weeks and 4 days. We found out that she is a girl. It’s going really well with lots and lots of movement; she seems to be extra wiggly. I feel fine, aside from the effects of gaining weight. Thanks for asking, blue milk!

  9. March 18, 2009 9:04 am

    awww, a girl. congratulations!

Comments are closed.

