Skip to content

Need a Laugh?

February 2, 2009

My son’s drawings are cracking us up over here, so in case you need a laugh on this Monday morning, I’m sharing some art that will take care of that for you!Β  His third birthday is just around the corner.

. . .

It's Onigiri-san with tamago!

. . .

Baby and Mama

. . .

Parasaurolophus

. . .

A few months ago he started making ovals and circles and calling them “eggs” and “mountains”. Then he started drawing faces inside the ovals and circles. Then he experimented with the shapes and drew on some legs and arms. Now what he loves to do is draw a person or a monster and surround it with eggs.Β  He draws on paper with crayons, markers and pencils, and he also knows how to use Microsoft Paint when it’s his turn on the computer.

. . .

Have a Happy Monday!

. . .

15 Comments
  1. February 2, 2009 11:37 am

    His art is fantastic! I particularly like Parasaurolophus πŸ™‚

  2. February 2, 2009 12:35 pm

    cute, cute, cute!! I wonder if he’ll draw his sister with straight up hair because it’s static-y?

  3. February 2, 2009 1:03 pm

    How cute!! I wish I’d kept more of my kids’ scribbles from that age. At the time the sheer volume of it all overwhelmed me and I only kept a couple of things. Now I wish I’d taken pictures of it and stuck it in a scrapbook.

  4. February 2, 2009 4:10 pm

    Those drawings are cute! He has great control with the paint program– he probably draws better than I do! πŸ˜€

  5. Lofter permalink
    February 2, 2009 6:53 pm

    That, my dear friend, is totally priceless… :->

  6. February 2, 2009 11:30 pm

    Those just made me smile and that is a BIG accomplishment today. How did you know that I’d be stopping by and needing something adorable to lift my spirits?

    Tell your son ‘well done!!!!’ (get it? well done… bad egg humor, i know)

  7. High Hopes permalink
    February 3, 2009 2:17 pm

    Those are so cute! It brings back memories of baby girls drawing, and yes I kept them all. I have packrat-itis. I miss those days. They were so simple.

  8. February 3, 2009 7:55 pm

    I like the Parasaurolophus, too.

  9. February 3, 2009 8:27 pm

    The digital drawings are easier to keep in folders than the actual paper ones. I feel bad about letting him doodle so often since he could make dozens each day. It seems like a waste of paper, so I taught him to use Paint. He loves knowing the names of the iconic dinosaurs. I just think it’s cute that he can say “Parasaurolophus” but he can’t say “sandwich”.

    Thanks for your comments!

  10. Organic Mama permalink
    February 4, 2009 2:17 pm

    Those are wonderful. I have old scribbles of my kids in a drawer, but they’re not dated and I couldn’t tell you when exactly they created them. I love that you can save these digital drawings. I miss those days of quiet and concentrated drawing too.

  11. February 5, 2009 4:05 am

    Naturally, I am partial to Onigiri-san and his faithful sidekick (or is it arch-nemesis?) Tamago. Maybe you can get him a Buddha Board. You wet a brush and write on the board. Where it gets wet, it leaves black markings which eventually fade and the board can be reused. Or you can buy Japanese calligraphy practice paper which is very thin, and hence uses less material per page.

  12. February 5, 2009 8:51 am

    Thanks, OM! You are right about dating the drawings. I haven’t done that either, but it would be nice for the ones we are keeping.

    Bikkuri, naturally. I saw that kind of board in a catalog and was intrigued. I know my children would enjoy having one. And I like the exposure to Japanese culture that it would bring to our creative time together. Time to start saving up to get one.

  13. February 5, 2009 5:02 pm

    Yeah, not knowing the price, that jumped to mind while I was typing. I guess they aren’t very cheap.

  14. February 6, 2009 11:38 am

    Thanks, those really made me smile. I’m amazed at how expressive his drawings are!

  15. February 7, 2009 1:44 pm

    WOW, that is REALLY good! seriously. not a lot of 3 year old can draw things that actually look like, well, things!

Comments are closed.

