Skip to content

Fun on a Cold Sunday

January 26, 2009

On Sundays we almost always go to my parents’ house.  My son loves swinging, even when it is bitterly cold outside.  I took him to the swings for just a few minutes.  Then he said, “Okay, I’m finished swinging.  Let’s go inside Grandma and Granddad’s house.”  He already had badly chapped lips, so I was glad he wanted to get out of the cold.  But I did get some really fun photos while he was swinging.

. . .

joyful swinging

. . .

joyful swinging

. . .

Back in the kitchen, my mom and my daughter had made us piggy cookies.  They only need to be baked for 9 minutes and are based on a recipe from the book Cookie Dough Fun (2007).  They left out the peppermint flavoring.  The cookies are already gone; they were so delicious and cute.

. . .

piggy cookies

. . .

11 Comments
  1. January 26, 2009 2:27 pm

    Cute!!! It’s too cold to go outside, even for a moment. We have to layer up just to run out and get the mail. 😦

  2. January 26, 2009 3:35 pm

    what cute cookies 🙂

  3. January 26, 2009 9:30 pm

    Now that’s a Sunday!
    i love swinging!!! Whenever we go hiking at Lithia Park, i head to the swings afterward. Inside i feel just how your son looks in your photos.

    Those cookies are killing me they’re so cute. 🙂

  4. January 26, 2009 9:37 pm

    It’s stuff like this that I cherish in my memories even more than big vacations or other “major” events.

  5. January 27, 2009 6:28 am

    Those cookies are too cute! Your son really looks like he’s enjoying himself. Em loves to swing too but I draw the line in winter. I still can’t believe there’s no snow for you yet?!? I’ll mail you some 😉

  6. January 27, 2009 8:53 am

    Those are the cutest cookies!!! I’m going to have to try those sometime. And the swing pictures – what a happy smile.

  7. January 27, 2009 4:03 pm

    Yum!
    I wished we lived closer to relatives to do regular things like that. (My 17 year old self just slapped me for such a statement! 🙂

  8. January 27, 2009 7:28 pm

    I definitely need an oven… and a swing… and cute little kids…

  9. Organic Mama permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:56 pm

    I can imagine that one day your kids will see this blog post and smile, knowing you took such joy in this period of life with them. Those cookies are fabulous!!

  10. January 29, 2009 4:59 pm

    VERY cute…but the one with the white chips…scares me a little. rofl

    • January 29, 2009 5:35 pm

      CG, yes, that one doesn’t work as well as the ones with M&Ms. It has pointy-freak-of-nature-eyes for sure.

Comments are closed.

