Skip to content

SiLLiNeSS (5)

January 11, 2009

These are some silly things my children have said lately.  SiLLiNeSS is inspired by Sandi’s blog posts.

1) My son says, “I don’t like swanich.”  He will eat bread and he will eat ham or turkey, but he will not eat them sandwiched between bread.  He even pulls apart his gooey grilled cheese sandwiches and eats the cheese and bread separately.  I don’t correct his pronunciation because I love when he says “swanich”.

2) My son is eager to help in the kitchen.  He pushes a chair up to the counter and says:  “I can egg it” (french toast); “I can water it” (coffeepot); “I can sugar it” (coffee mug).

3) My children once suggested the name Lightning McQueen for their sibling.  They haven’t brought it up since, so it must have been a fleeting desire.

4) son:  Putting his hands down my shirt, “I love your hot neck.”  This is now a running joke between us.

5) daughter:  “What does ‘except’ mean?”
me:  “Except means but.”
daughter:  “Butt? It means butt?”  Giggling, “You’re only supposed to say that in the bathroom.”

6) daughter:  “At school when they call your name in a fire drill you have to either say ‘president’ or ‘here’ so the teacher will know you’re in line.”

10 Comments
  1. January 11, 2009 10:27 am

    Beanie, who’s staring down the barrel of ten years old, still says “renember” instead of “remember.” I love it so much that I can’t correct her pronunciation.

  2. January 11, 2009 10:35 am

    My son keeps talking about “glubs”, as in, “Can I play outside if I put on my glubs?” or “Do you need the glubs to take that out of the oven?”

    Funny stories. Your kids are darling.

  3. January 11, 2009 3:28 pm

    Around here, animals are “naminals.” Same meaning, easier to say.

    I might have to try out the “I love your hot neck” line. Will credit your son, if it works.

    I thought this blog was rated PG-13?!

    😉

  4. January 11, 2009 4:08 pm

    I love the “egg it- water it- sugar-it”. Oh man how cute.. I am looking forward to that age. 🙂

  5. January 11, 2009 4:51 pm

    Love the Hot Neck and the Except in the Bathroom.

  6. January 12, 2009 12:15 pm

    all good!

  7. January 12, 2009 9:32 pm

    So cute!!

  8. January 13, 2009 3:40 pm

    Thanks, I needed a good laugh today!

  9. January 13, 2009 10:08 pm

    I love that he can egg it! Great stories!

  10. January 30, 2009 12:36 pm

    HA HA HA HA HA! I loved these! I’m not a huge corrector of baby talk either. I mean, they grow out of it! He won’t go to college not know how to pronounce, “sandwich”! but I do know some who are very strict on this. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Comments are closed.

